Free: Columbia / Arc Recordings 1976-1988 | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top


Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Free: Columbia / Arc Recordings 1976-1988


Rel. Date: 07/02/2021
UPC: 5013929089907

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. It's Important to Me
2. That's What Friends Are for
3. How'd I Know That Love Would Slip Away
4. Cause You Love Me Baby
5. Free
6. Watching Over
7. If You Don't Believe
8. Time
9. The Boy I Left Behind
10. We Have Love for You
11. God Is Amazing
12. Baby, Baby My Love's All for You
13. Season
14. Be Good to Me
15. The Paper
16. You're All I Need to Get By
17. Until You Come Back to Me (That's What I'm Gonna Do)
18. You're a Special Part of My Life
19. Ready or Not
20. Me for You, You for Me
21. Your Precious Love
22. Just the Way You Are
23. That's What Friends Are for
24. I Just Can't Get Over You
25. Touching Me with Love
26. Too Much, Too Little, Too Late
27. Emotion
28. Love Won't Let Me Wait
29. I Found Love
30. Are You Thinking?
31. My Prayer
32. I've Got the Next Dance
33. Touch Me Again
34. When Love Comes Calling
35. God Knows
36. Like Magic
37. Turn Around
38. Why Can't We Fall in Love?
39. My Melody
40. It's Your Conscience
41. Silly
42. Strangers
43. What Two Can Do
44. Waiting By the Hotline
45. It's Gonna Take a Miracle
46. Love Notes
47. I Believe in Miracles
48. How Does It Feel
49. Waiting
50. Now Is the Time for Love
51. A Part of Love
52. Do What You Feel
53. I'm So Proud
54. So Deep in Love
55. I'm Glad It's You
56. Heaven in Your Eyes
57. They Say
58. Love, Peace and Unity
59. It's Okay
60. Let's Hear It for the Boy
61. I Want You
62. Picking Up the Pieces
63. Black Butterfly
64. Next Love
65. Haunting Me
66. Don't Tell Me We Have Nothing
67. Blind Dating
68. Wrapped Up
69. Whiter Than Snow
70. Wiser and Weaker
71. Hot on the Trail
72. He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not
73. Video
74. I Feel the Night
75. We're Together
76. Straight from the Heart
77. I Confess
78. Never Say Never
79. Water Under the Bridge
80. Love Finds You
81. Not By Chance
82. One Less Lonely Heart
83. I Believe in You
84. Someone for Someone
85. Baby This Is Love
86. Don't Blame It on My Heart
87. I Can't Wait
88. This Is As Good As It Gets
89. We Are Here to Change the World
90. All I Need
91. Memories
92. There's No Other
93. I Am Sure
94. It's You I'm After
95. Don't Stop the Love
96. Hold Me Tight
97. Free (Long Single Version)
98. Baby Baby My Love's All for You
99. (Promotional Single Version)
100. Silly (Single Version)
101. It's Your Conscience (Single Version)
102. It's Gonna Take a Miracle (Single Version)
103. Do What You Feel (Single Version)
104. It's Okay (Single Version)
105. I Found Love (12" Disco Mix)
106. I've Got the Next Dance (12" Disco Mix)
107. Let's Hear It for the Boy (12" Version)
108. Next Love (12" Version)
109. The Wiser Gets Weaker (12" Extended Version)
110. Never Say Never (12" Extended Version)
111. I Confess (12" Dance Mix)
112. I Can't Wait (12" Version)

More Info:

SoulMusic Records is very proud to present a deluxe box set of the 11 Columbia and ARC albums by award-winning icon Deniece Williams released between 1976-1988. A constant presence on the contemporary music scene as a soul, pop and gospel best-selling artist and distinguished songwriter, 'Niecy' (as she's been known since her early '70s tenure with Stevie Wonder's female background vocalists Wonderlove) has racked up over 25 charted hits, all of which can be found on the eight discs that comprise this first-of-it's-kind full showcase of Deniece's distinctive and influential music. Produced by SoulMusic. Com founder David Nathan, "Free: The Columbia/ARC Recordings" includes an outstanding in-depth essay by distinguished US writer Justin Kantor, with 2021 direct comments from Deniece herself along with interview quotes from the legendary Johnny Mathis as well as an array of producers, songwriters and collaborators involved with some of Niecy's albums, such as Nathan East, Bill Neale, Greg Mathieson, Monte Moir, Michael Jeffries, Diane Warren, and Michele Val Jean specifically for this project. With stunning artwork by Roger Williams and first class mastering by Nick Robbins, this beautifully-packaged set boasts 115 tracks that display Denice Williams' soulful artistry as a pre-eminent hitmaker and creative mainstay with a global audience. Disc 1: Combining her 1976 gold-certified debut solo LP, NIECY with the follow-up SONG BIRD (1977) - the former produced by the late Maurice White (of EW&F fame) and the late Charles Stepney, the latter produced by White - the 15 tracks include the timeless classic 'Free' and Niecy's long-time show closer 'God Is Amazing'. Disc 2: An expanded edition of THAT'S WHAT FRIENDS ARE FOR, 1978's international best-selling LP of duets with the iconic Johnny Mathis and three bonus tracks, the across-the-board global No. 1 'Too Much, Too Little, Too Late' as well as versions of The Bee Gees-penned 'Emotion' and a 1984 rendition of Major Harris' 'Love Won't Let Me Wait'. Disc 3: WHEN LOVE COMES CALLING (1979) with production by Ray Parker Jr. #and David Foster includes the R&B/dance hit 'I've Got The Next Dance'; and 1981's MY MELODY teams Deniece with legendary Philly soul producer/songwriter Thom Bell resulting in charted singles, 'Silly' and 'It's Your Conscience'. Disc 4: Deniece and Thom Bell followed up with 1982's NIECY included one of her biggest hits, a cover of The Royalettes' 'It's Gonna Take A Miracle'; while the 1983 set I'm SO PROUD marked the beginning of Niecy's work with late musical maestro George Duke on several tracks such as the title cut, a revival of the Curtis Mayfield-penned classic. Disc 5: LET'S HEAR IT FOR THE BOY (1984) - title track produced by George Duke - brought Deniece her biggest global smash as well as the classic 'Black Butterfly' while she began producing herself (with Greg Mathieson) for a number of cuts for the LP as well as the follow up album, 1986's HOT ON THE TRAIL. Disc 6: Standalone reissue of 1987'S WATER UNDER THE BRIDGE, produced by Steve Levine (known for his work with Culture Club and many others), features US R&B charted singles 'I Confess' and 'Never Say Never'. Disc 7: 1988's AS GOOD AS IT GETS completed Niecy's Columbia tenure, with production by Monte Moir (Of The Time), Brad Westering and George Duke and includes the Michael Jackson-co-penned 'We Are Here To Change The World' and Top 10 US R&B hit 'I Can't Wait'. Disc 8 comprises 15 tracks with a selection of single edits including the Verdine White co-penned 'Baby, Baby My Love's All For You' (1977) and 'Do What You Feel' (1983) as well as 12" disco mixes of 'I Found Love' (1979), the 12" version of 'Let's Hear It For The Boy' (1984) and 12" extended versions of 'Wiser And Weaker'(1986) and 'Never Say Never' (1987).