Philip Bailey - State Of The Heart: The Columbia Recordings 83-88 | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

State Of The Heart: The Columbia Recordings 83-88
Artist: Philip Bailey
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 04/21/2023
UPC: 5013929090934

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. I Know
2. Trapped
3. It's Our Time (Duet with Deniece Williams)
4. Desire
5. I'm Waiting for Your Love
6. Vaya (Go with Love)
7. The Good Guy's Supposed to Get the Girls
8. Your Boyfriend's Back
9. I Know (Extended Dance Version)
10. Photogenic Memory
11. I Go Crazy
12. Walking on the Chinese Wall
13. For Every Heart That's Been Broken
14. Go
15. Philip Bailey ; Phil Collins: Easy Lover
16. Show You the Way to Love
17. Time Is a Woman
18. Woman
19. Children of the Ghetto
20. Philip Bailey ; Phil Collins: Easy Lover (Extended Dance Remix)
21. Walking on the Chinese Wall (Single Version)
22. Philip Bailey ; Phil Collins: Easy Lover (Single Version)
23. Love Is Alive (From "The Goonies" - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
24. Welcome to the Club
25. State of the Heart
26. Long Distance Love
27. Echo My Heart
28. Don't Leave Me Baby
29. Special Effect
30. Because of You
31. Back It Up
32. Take This with You
33. The Day Will Come
34. State of the Heart (Dub Mix)
35. Philip Bailey/Little Richard: Twins (From the Original Motion Picture Soundtrack "Twins")
36. Philip Bailey/Little Richard: Twins (Club Mix)

More Info:

Glorious 3CD set featuring the first three solo albums by renowned soul/pop/gospel vocalist Philip Bailey (of Earth, Wind & Fire fame) originally released on Columbia Records. 36 tracks, (including 8 rare bonus tracks consisting of single edits, remixes, and soundtrack songs) on these expanded editions of 'Continuation' (1983), 'Chinese Wall' (1985), and 'Inside Out' (1986). Key tracks include the international smash hit 'Easy Lover', a celebrated duet with Phil Collins, plus US R&B classics 'I Know', 'Walking on the Chinese Wall', 'Children of the Ghetto', 'State of the Heart', and many more. Includes production from George Duke, Phil Collins, and Nile Rodgers, and songwriting from Richard Marx, Glen Ballard, and members of The System plus a brand new interview with Bailey offering insights on this pivotal era of his career. Throughout the 1970s and early 80s, Philip Bailey's rich falsetto powered some of the biggest hits by Earth, Wind & Fire, from 'Shining Star' and 'That's the Way of the World' to 'Fantasy' and 'September'. When EW&F founder Maurice White put the group on hiatus in 1983, Bailey fearlessly embarked on a new musical journey, building cutting-edge R&B albums with a galaxy of talent, including some of the most formidable producers in soul and pop history. These albums showcased the full versatility of Bailey's distinctive voice and forged creative partnerships that would last throughout his entire career. In 1985, with the help of fan-turned- producer and duet partner Phil Collins, Bailey scored one of the most enduring hits of the decade with 'Easy Lover', a US No. 2 and UK No. 1 smash. Bonus tracks include 'Love is Alive' from the soundtrack to The Goonies and the rollicking theme to the blockbuster comedy Twins, recorded as a duet with rock and soul legend Little Richard as well as extended dance music mixes of 'Easy Lover' and 'I Know'. Produced and compiled by Mike Duquette and Joe Marchese of popular re-issue site The Second Disc, and includes a 24-page booklet. The package is designed by John Sellards with rare images from the Sony Music archives, and all audio has been newly mastered by Donald Cleveland.