Aztec Camera - Backwards & Forwards (Wea Recordings 1984-1995) | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top


Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Backwards & Forwards (Wea Recordings 1984-1995)
Artist: Aztec Camera
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 09/03/2021
UPC: 5013929111202

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Still on Fire
2. Just Like the USA
3. Head Is Happy (Heart's Insane)
4. The Back Door to Heaven
5. All I Need Is Everything
6. Backwards and Forwards
7. The Birth of the True Knife
8. All I Need Is Everything (7" Edit)
9. Jump
10. All I Need Is Everything (Latin Mix)
11. Jump (Loaded Version)
12. Walk Out to Winter (Live in Glasgow)
13. The Bugle Sounds Again (Live in Glasgow)
14. We Could Send Letters (Live in Glasgow)
15. Backwards and Forwards (Live in Glasgow)
16. Oblivious (Live in Glasgow)
17. All I Need Is Everything (Live in Glasgow)
18. The Boy Wonders (Live in Glasgow)
19. Mattress of Wire (Live in London)
20. The Bugle Sounds Again (Live in London)
21. The Birth of the True (Live in London)
22. Backwards and Forwards (Live in London)
23. Walk Out to Winter (Live in London)
24. Deep ; Wide ; Tall
25. How Men Are
26. Everybody Is a Number One 4 More Than a Law
27. Somewhere in My Heart
28. Working in a Goldmine
29. One and One
30. Paradise
31. Killermont Street
32. Bad Education
33. The Red Flag
34. Somewhere in My Heart (12" Remix)
35. Somewhere in My Heart (Eric Calvi Remix)
36. Somewhere in My Heart (The Alternate Mix)
37. Deep ; Wide ; Tall (Breakdown Mix)
38. Deep ; Wide ; Tall (LP Edit) 6 Everybody Is a Number One (Boston '86 Version)
39. Working in a Goldmine (Sax Version)
40. Working in a Goldmine (Live at Pinewood)
41. Somewhere in My Heart (Live at Pinewood)
42. Killermont Street (Live in la)
43. Pillar to Post (Live in la) 12 How Men Are (Night Network Live)
44. Down the Dip (Live in Glasgow)
45. Jump (Live in Glasgow)
46. I Threw It All Away (Live in Bristol)
47. Interview
48. Stray
49. The Crying Scene
50. Get Outta London
51. Over My Head
52. Good Morning Britain 6 How It Is
53. The Gentle Kind
54. Notting Hill Blues
55. Song for a Friend
56. Salvation
57. True Colours
58. Do I Love You?
59. Good Morning Britain (7" Mix)
60. Good Morning Britain (Laylow Posse Hypno- Mix/Kitsch 'N' Sync Mix)
61. Good Morning Britain (Laylow Posse Hypnomental/ Instrumental Mix)
62. Good Morning Britain (Laylow Posse Hypno- Edit/Vocal Remix)
63. Good Morning Britain (Mendelsohn Single Mix)
64. Good Morning Britain (Morning Acid Mix)
65. Consolation Prize (Live at Glasgow Barrowlands, August 4th, 1990)
66. Good Morning Britain (Live at Glasgow Barrowlands, August 4th, 1990)
67. Birth of the True
68. Song for a Friend
69. Killermont Street
70. Spanish Horses
71. Stray
72. The Bugle Sounds Again
73. Dolphins
74. How Men Are
75. Sister Ann
76. Good Morning Britain
77. Mattress of Wire
78. Let Your Love Decide
79. Orchid Girl
80. Birds
81. Safe in Sorrow
82. Black Lucia
83. Let Your Love Decide
84. Spanish Horses
85. Dream Sweet Dreams
86. Pianos and Clocks
87. Sister Ann
88. Vertigo
89. Valium Summer
90. The Belle of the Ball
91. (If Paradise Is) Half As Nice
92. Just Like the USA (Live in Barcelona)
93. Let Your Love Decide (Edit)
94. Rainy Season
95. Sun
96. Crazy
97. On the Avenue
98. Imperfectly
99. Debutante
100. Beautiful Girl
101. Phenomenal World
102. Method of Love
103. Sunset
104. The Crying Scene (Live at the Phoenix Festival, 1995)
105. Black Lucia (Live at the Phoenix Festival, 1995)
106. We Could Send Letters (Live at the Phoenix Festival, 1995)
107. Rainy Season (Live at the Phoenix Festival, 1995)

More Info:

Deluxe nine CD box set compiling five albums, singles, b-sides, live recordings, remixes, compilation appearances and vinyl-only rarities. 112 tracks spanning the band's 11-year spell with WEA, including many never before issued on CD. Featuring the hits 'Somewhere In My Heart', 'Good Morning Britain', 'Deep & Wide & Tall', 'All I Need Is Everything', and more, alongside live renditions of the band's pre-WEA highlights. Including collaborations with Joe Strummer, Edwyn Collins, Ryuichi Sakamoto (Yellow Magic Orchestra) and Mark Knopfler. Led by frontman and master songwriter Roddy Frame, Aztec Camera successfully turned indie-darling status into mainstream success when they signed with WEA in 1984. Taking inspiration from his own record collection, Frame set about recording a series of style-hopping albums, collaborating with his personal wish list of musical inspirations and producing a remarkable run of emotive, honest songs to rival any of his contemporaries. Admired and adored in equal measure, Roddy remains one of Scotland's most gifted musical treasures. 'Backwards And Forwards' showcases the five albums, multiple hit singles and contemporary remixes, live recordings and alternative versions accumulated by Aztec Camera during that period, a time which saw the band tour the world and achieve success wherever songwriting class is recognized and appreciated. Bursting with expertly crafted songs and melodies, and always produced with an accessible sheen, this is the sound of a musical magpie taking every opportunity offered to him, at a time when the music business encouraged genius and applauded eclecticism.