Vapors - Waiting For The Weekend: United Artists & Liberty | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Waiting For The Weekend: United Artists & Liberty
Artist: Vapors
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 08/20/2021
UPC: 5013929111394

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Spring Collection
2. Turning Japanese
3. Cold War
4. America
5. Trains
6. Bunkers
7. News at Ten
8. Somehow
9. Sixty Second Interval
10. Waiting for the Weekend
11. Letter from Hiro
12. Prisoners Sunstroke
13. Here Comes the Judge (Live)
14. News at Ten (Single Version)
15. Wasted
16. Talk Talk
17. Waiting for the Weekend (Single Version)
18. Billy Turning Japanese (Edit)
19. Move (Demo)
20. Jimmie Jones
21. Spiders
22. Isolated
23. Case Civic
24. Hall Live at the Marquee Daylight Titans
25. Johnny's in Love (Again)
26. Can't Talk Anymore
27. Lenina
28. Silver Machines Magnets
29. Galleries
30. For Guns
31. Jimmie Jones (Single Version)
32. Daylight Titans (Single Version)
33. Spiders (Single Version)
34. Interview with Dave Fenton
35. Spring Collection (Demo)
36. Turning Japanese (Alternative Version)
37. Cold War (Rough Mix)
38. America (Demo)
39. Trains (Rough Mix)
40. Bunkers (Demo)
41. News at Ten (Alternative Version)
42. Somehow (Instrumental)
43. Sixty Second Interval (Demo)
44. Waiting for the Weekend (Demo)
45. Letter from Hiro (Rough Mix)
46. Turning Japanese (Edit) (Demo)
47. Prisoners (Demo)
48. Wasted (Rough Mix)
49. Spring Collection (Rough Mix)
50. Turning Japanese (Alternative Extended Mix)
51. Cold War (Rough Mix Edit)
52. America (Instrumental)
53. Waiting for the Weekend (Rough Mix)
54. Cold War (Alternative Rough Mix)
55. Turning Japanese (Instrumental)
56. Jimmie Jones (Rough Mix)
57. Civic Hall (Rough Mix)
58. Live at the Marquee (Rough Mix)
59. Johnny's in Love (Again) (Rough Mix)
60. Galleries for Guns (Rough Mix)
61. Secret Noise
62. Galleries for Guns (Alternative Rough Mix)
63. Caroline
64. Somehow
65. Bunkers
66. Sunstroke
67. Cold War
68. Waiting for the Weekend
69. Sixty Second Interval
70. Spring Collection
71. Turning Japanese
72. America
73. Prisoners

More Info:

76 track deluxe 4CD clamshell box set containing the original albums 'New Clear Days' and 'Magnets' plus B-sides & single versions. Includes 2CDs of previously unreleased demos, rough mixes, alternative and live versions featuring their performance from The Rainbow on 3rd December 1979. Featuring three songs 'Move', 'Secret Noise' and 'Caroline' that have never officially previously been released. With a fully illustrated 24-page booklet containing rare and previously unseen photos with a brand new annotation by Ed Piller. Formed in 1978 and "discovered" by The Jam's Bruce Foxton and managed by Paul Weller's Dad John they signed to United Artists in 1979, their second single 'Turning Japanese' becoming an enormous international hit reaching number three in the UK and number one in Australia. It was also a major hit in New Zealand, Canada and reached No. 36 in the US single charts. Their debut LP 'New Clear Days' (No. 44 - UK albums chart) was released in 1979 and their second album 'Magnets' in early 1981. The band never repeated the same degree of commercial success as 'Turning Japanese' but developed a global following prior to their split in the early '80s. Some 35 years later The Vapors reformed in 2016 and again in 2020 to release their third album 'Together' and continue to regularly play live shows. Packaged in a deluxe clamshell box, this 4CD set contains their two albums 'New Clear Days' and 'Magnets' as well as the single versions and B-sides. Researched and mastered from the original master tapes retrieved from the EMI Archives, it also contains two CDs featuring previously unreleased demos, rough mixes, alternative versions plus the bands live set from The Rainbow in December 1979.