C91 / Various - C91 / Various (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

C91 / Various (Uk)
Artist: C91 / Various
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 01/28/2022
UPC: 5013929111905

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Daisy Chainsaw - Love Your Money
2. Dodgy -Summer Fayre
3. Kingmaker - When Lucy's Down
4. Catherine Wheel -Black Metallic
5. Sultans of Ping F.C. - Where's Me Jumper?
6. Bleach - Bethesda
7. Revolver- Crimson
8. The Wendys - Pulling My Fingers Off
9. The Stairs - Weed Bus (Flower Shop Demo)
10. Poppy Factory - 7 X 7
11. The Cranberries - Them
12. The Dylans -Godlike
13. Moose - Jack
14. Spirea X - Jet Pilot
15. Levitation - Nadine
16. Bang Bang Machine - Flower Horse
17. Sweet Jesus - Honey Loving Honey
18. Sun Dial - Fireball
19. Fabulous - There's a Riot Going on
20. Drop -Drone 1
21. Blueboy - Clearer
22. The High- Up and Down
23. The Charlatans - Over Rising
24. Top - She's Got All the World
25. Chapterhouse - Pearl
26. Saint Etienne - Nothing Can Stop Us
27. Flowered Up - I'll Be Your Dog (Introducing Barry Mooncult)
28. World of Twist - Sweets
29. Stan-My Delight
30. Paris Angels -Oh Yes
31. Lush -For Love
32. Scorpio Rising -Watermelon
33. Boo Radleys -The Finest Kiss
34. Slowdive -Morningrise
35. Spectrum - (I Love You) to the Moon ; Back
36. Secret Shine -Grey Skies
37. Medalark Eleven -Snake
38. Smashing Orange - Not Very Much to See
39. The Forever People - Sometimes
40. Manic Street Preachers - Stay Beautiful
41. Northside -Take 5
42. Ever - Virginize
43. Ned's Atomic Dustbin -Until You Find Out
44. TH' Faith Healers - Gorgeous Blue Flower in My Garden
45. Spitfire - Dive
46. Honey Smugglers -Closer
47. Horse Latitudes - Northern Country Lie
48. See See Rider - Stolen Heart
49. Steamkings - in Your Room
50. Greenhouse - New World Order
51. Gentle Despite - Shadow of a Girl
52. Moonflowers - Fire
53. Raintree County - Here It Comes
54. Heavenly - So Little Deserve
55. Headtime - Have You Heard
56. Tramway - Maritime City
57. Mexico 70 - What's in Your Mind
58. Fuel - Honey Comes Softly
59. The Sweetest Ache - Sickening

More Info:

The Latest In The Hugely Successful 'C' Series, Riffing On The Original 'C86' Cassette. Follows Previous Best-Selling Collections C86 (2014), C87 (2016), C88 (2017), C89 (2018) And C90 (2020). 59 Tracks Charting The Ongoing Rise To Dominance Of The Independent Music Scene, As Once Shoestring Artists And Labels Began To Find Themselves Embraced By The Mainstream. Packed With Well-Known Favourites - The Charlatans, Manic Street Preachers, Dodgy, Saint Etienne, The Cranberries, Ned's Atomic Dustbin, Northside, Etc - Alongside Underground And Cult Independent Heroes - Sultans Of Ping Fc, Chapterhouse, Kingmaker, The Stairs, Flowered Up, Levitation And Many, Many More. Produced By The Team That Brought You 'Scared To Get Happy', 'Still In A Dream', 'Another Splash Of Colour', 'Electrical Language', 'Musik Music Musique' And Countless Other Critically Acclaimed Hit Box Sets. Having successfully crossed over from the bedsit to the mainstream throughout 1989 and 1990, independent artists quickly began to dominate the British musical landscape, bringing an authentic new energy to a stagnant, Thatcherite pop scene. 1991 saw countless indie artists score hit singles and albums as the scene continued to mutate and adapt regionally, politically and aesthetically - from Manic Street Preachers' urgent, punk-infused anthems and the outer edges of shoegaze and psychedelic songcraft offered by Chapterhouse and Levitation, through to the dancefloor friendly adventures of Flowered Up and St Etienne, the art-school informed Kingmaker and established baggy favourites The Charlatans, 1991 offered up the broadest and richest smorgasbord of accessible, street-level artists the UK's youth had known in a decade. 'C91' is a snapshot of that time and place, bringing together the cream of the 1991 independent landscape and offering a rollercoaster of hits, near-misses and curiosities along the way. With thoughtful sleevenotes from Lois Wilson (Record Collector and MOJO) and fantastic mood- capturing artwork we've come to associate with the 'C' series, this set - the sixth in the series - continues a journey begun with 'C86', charting an essential, alternative view of the British music scene as it moved towards the inevitability of the 21st Century