Mighty Lemon Drops - Inside Out: 1985-1990 (Box) [Remastered] (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. The Other Side Of You
2. My Biggest Thrill
3. All The Way
4. Hypnotised
5. Like An Angel
6. Behind Your Back
7. Happy Head
8. Pass You By
9. Take Me Up
10. On My Mind
11. Something Happens
12. Turn Me Round
13. Like An Angel (Original Dreamworld Single Version)
14. Something Happens (Original Dreamworld Single Version)
15. Sympathise With Us
16. Now She's Gone
17. Uptight
18. Pass You By (Faster Version)
19. Open Mind
20. Take My Heart
21. Rollercoaster
22. Wait And See
23. Inside Out
24. One By One
25. In Everything You Do
26. Hear Me Call
27. No Bounds
28. Fall Down (Like The Rain)
29. Crystal Clear
30. Hollow Inside
31. Closer To You
32. Breaking Down
33. Out Of Hand
34. Going Under
35. Splash #1 (Now I'm Home)
36. Count Me Out
37. Shine
38. Head On The Block
39. Fall Down (Like The Rain) (Single Version)
40. Paint It Black
41. Laughter
42. At Midnight
43. Into The Heart Of Love
44. Where Do We Go From Heaven?
45. The Heartbreak Thing
46. One In A Million
47. Written In Fiction
48. The Real World
49. All That I Can Do
50. Second Time Around
51. Beautiful Shame
52. Rumbletrain
53. Sometimes Good Guys Don't Wear White
54. Forever Home At Heart
55. Where Do We Go From Heaven? (Full Length Remix Version)
56. Written In Fiction (Alternative Mix without brass)
57. Pass You By (May / June 1985)
58. Take My Heart (May / June 1985)
59. Like An Angel (May / June 1985)
60. My Feelings (May / June 1985)
61. Sympathize With Us (May / June 1985)
62. Now She's Gone (May / June 1985)
63. On My Mind (Live at North Staffs Polytechnic College, May / June 1985)
64. There She Goes Again (May / June 1985)
65. Like An Angel (Radio 1 Session, December 1985)
66. Pass You By (Radio 1 Session, December 1985)
67. Something Happens (Radio 1 Session, December 1985)
68. Now She's Gone (Radio 1 Session, February 1986)
69. Happy Head (NME C86 Cassette, May 1986)
70. Turn Me Round (March 1986)
71. Behind Your Back (Demo, June / July 1986)
72. Take Me Up (Demo, June / July 1986)
73. Uptight (Demo, June / July, 1986)
74. All The Way (Live at The Astoria, November 1986)
75. My Biggest Thrill (Live at The Astoria, November 1986)
76. Hypnotised (Live at The Astoria, November 1986)
77. The Other Side Of You (Live at The Astoria, London, November 1986)
78. Out Of Hand (Rockfield Version)
79. Inside Out (Manchester Radio Session, 1987)
80. Breaking Down (Manchester Radio Session, 1987)
81. Closer To You (Manchester Radio Session, 1987)
82. Fall Down (Like The Rain) (Manchester Radio Session, 1987)
83. Take Me Up (Live)
84. Hear Me Call (Demo)
85. World Without End (Demo)
86. Fall Down (Like The Rain) (Live at The Astoria, February 1988)
87. Mighty Lemon Talk
88. Inside Out (Live at The Astoria, February 1988)
89. Happy Head (Live at The Astoria, February 1988)
90. Hollow Inside (Live at The Astoria, February 1988)
91. Paint It Black (Live at The Astoria, London, February 1988)
92. Sometimes Good Guys Don't Wear White (Live at The Dominion, October 1989)
93. At Midnight (Live at Moles Club, Bath, August 1989)
94. Like An Angel (Live at Moles Club, Bath, August 1989)
95. Written In Fiction (Live at Moles Club, Bath, August 1989)
96. Out Of Hand (Extended Version)
97. Inside Out (Extended Version)

More Info:

A new five-disc boxed set anthology celebrating the recordings of The Mighty Lemon Drops, between 1985 and 1990 for Chrysalis Records imprint Blue Raincoat. Featuring 83 tracks on five discs, including the albums 'Happy Head', 'World Without End' and 'Laughter' plus non-album singles, B-Sides / bonus tracks, US radio mixes, previously unreleased demos and rare session recordings. With extensive sleeve notes that give a unique insight into the band's career. 'Inside Out: 1985 - 1990' is a newly remastered five disc boxed set celebrating the recordings of Wolverhampton post punk titans The Mighty Lemon Drops, curated by songwriter, guitarist and founding member David Newton. Always original, and difficult to categorise, The Mighty Lemon Drops formed in 1985. Definitely guitar-driven, probably post-punk, maybe neo-psychedelic, they drew comparisons to The Velvet Underground, Love and almost inevitably (and a little lazily) Echo And the Bunnymen. After appearing on NME's hugely influential 'C-86' compilation, the band signed with Geoff Travis' new Chrysalis subsidiary Blue Guitar for their debut album 'Happy Head', a collection of uncluttered songs with a chiming Rickenbacker sound that Sounds dubbed one of the 50 best albums of 1986. They followed up with 1987's more mature 'World Without End', which peaked at No. 33 on the UK charts and at No. 1 on the US College chart, and included the hit 'Inside Out'. The departure of bassist/co-writer Tony Linehan at the beginning of the sessions for 1989's 'Laughter' left Dave Newton to fashion an album which the press described as "by far the band's best". The band sound continued to evolve, with well-crafted vocal arrangements and sophisticated musicianship, but above all instantly memorable melodies. This five-disc career spanning retrospective is the most thorough overview to date of this much loved band. It has been put together with their collaboration resulting in the first appearance of previously unreleased recordings, along with some extremely rare tracks.