Lene Lovich - Toy Box: The Stiff Years 1978-1983 (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Toy Box: The Stiff Years 1978-1983 (Uk)
Artist: Lene Lovich
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 11/24/2023
UPC: 5013929114692

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Lucky Number
2. Sleeping Beauty
3. Home
4. Too Tender (To Touch)
5. Say When
6. Tonight
7. Writing on the Wall
8. Telepathy
9. Momentary Breakdown
10. 1 in a 1,000,000
11. I Think We're Alone Now
12. Lucky Number (Early Version)
13. I Think We're Alone Now (Japanese Version)
14. Monkey Talk (Early Version)
15. Be Stiff
16. Be Stiff (The Entire Ensemble Recorded Live at Leeds University)
17. Lene Lovich Speaks 1
18. Lucky Number (Instrumental Version)
19. One Lonely Heart
20. Big Bird
21. Lene Lovich Speaks 2
22. Lucky Number (Slavic Dance Version)
23. Home
24. Sleeping Beauty
25. Lucky Number
26. Too Tender (To Touch)
27. Say When
28. Writing on the Wall
29. Telepathy
30. Momentary Breakdown
31. I Think We're Alone Now
32. One in a 1,000,000
33. Tonight
34. Trixi
35. The Fly
36. The Fall
37. Live at the Lyceum, London 03.02.80:
38. Monkey Talk
39. The Night
40. Too Tender (To Touch)
41. You Can't Kill Me
42. Live at Paradise Theater, Boston 15.03.80:
43. Angels
44. Lucky Number
45. Home
46. Bird Song
47. What Will I Do Without You
48. Angels
49. The Night
50. You Can't Kill Me
51. Egghead
52. Wonderful One
53. Monkey Talk
54. Joan
55. The Freeze
56. The Night (Us Remix)
57. What Will I Do Without You (Single Version)
58. Bird Song (Edit)
59. Details (Original Version)
60. New Toy
61. Cats Away
62. New Toy (Extended Version)
63. Cats Away
64. Details
65. Never Never Land
66. It's You, Only You (Mein Schmerz)
67. Blue Hotel
68. Faces
69. Walking Low
70. Special Star
71. Sister Video
72. Maria
73. Savages
74. Rocky Road
75. Savages
76. Special Star
77. Blue Hotel (Single Version)
78. It's You, Only You (Mein Schmerz) (Remixed Extended Version)
79. Blue
80. It's You, Only You (Mein Schmerz) (Instrumental Version)
81. It's You, Only You (Mein Schmerz) (Us Extended Dance Mix)
82. Blue Hotel (Us Dance Mix)
83. O Seasons O Castles

More Info:

4CD box set compiling everything Lene Lovich released for Stiff Records between 1978 and 1983 for the first time. 81 tracks in total, over 20 tracks making their debut on CD, including B-sides, early versions, 12-inch versions. Freshly mastered, with sleeve notes from Scott Davies and Michael Robson, with extensive words from 'the first lady of Stiff' herself. 'Toy Box' is the ultimate compilation of Lene's years with Stiff; her name so synonymous with the label. With a striking appearance and sound to match, Lene Lovich arrived at Stiff Records in the summer of 1978, surfing the new wave and the subsequent 'Be Stiff' UK tour. Travelling by train together with labelmates Mickey Jupp, Jona Lewie, Rachel Sweet and Wreckless Eric, Lene proved to be the hit of the tour, both on record and on stage, and so began a productive five- year spell with the label. 'Stateless' (Original Mix) is the debut album released in October 1978 to coincide with the 'Be Stiff' tour. Including 'Lucky Number', 'Say When' and a gloriously retro cover of Tommy James & The Shondells hit, 'I Think We're Alone Now'. Bonus tracks include various versions of 'Lucky Number' in development (early B-Side version, Instrumental and rare US Slavic Dance 12" version), together with a Japanese version of 'I Think We're Alone Now'. 'Stateless' (US/UK Remix) - released in 1979 to accompany a remixed 'Lucky Number' became a surprise Top 3 UK hit and it's subsequent release in the States, the 'Stateless' US/UK remix includes the familiar 'Lucky Number' and 'Say When' hit versions. Bonus tracks include several live recordings from Lene's UK and USA tours in early 1980, captured at the Lyceum in London and the Paradise Theater in Boston, USA. 'Flex' - the eagerly awaited follow up to 'Stateless' released at the dawning of the 80s and featuring singles 'Bird Song', 'Angels' and 'What Will I Do Without You' together with an inspired cover of Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons' Northern Soul favourite, 'The Night'. Bonus tracks include 1981's dancefloor friendly 'New Toy' penned by keyboard wunderkind Thomas Dolby (playing in Lene's touring band at the time) plus tracks from the US only 'New Toy' mini-album. 'No Man's Land' - Lene's final album for Stiff Records in 1982 features her definitive version of Dutch band The Meteors' 'It's You, Only You (Mein Schmerz)'. Bonus tracks include the original Sanremo Music Festival single version of 'Blue Hotel' and a plethora of UK and US dance remixes of 'It's You, Only You (Mein Schmerz)' and 'Blue Hotel' maintaining Lene's cult status, particularly in the States, both on college radio and an MTV in it's infancy.