Misunderstood - Children Of The Sun: Complete Recordings 1965-1966 | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top

RecordStore Day

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Children Of The Sun: Complete Recordings 1965-1966
Artist: Misunderstood
Format: CD


Label: GRPF
Rel. Date: 03/05/2021
UPC: 5013929188624

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Children Of The Sun
2. My Mind
3. Who Do You Love
4. I Unseen
5. Find The Hidden Door
6. I Can Take You To The Sun
7. I'm Not Talking (Unedited Uk Vsn)
8. I Unseen (Ibc Acetate)
9. My Mind (Ibc Acetate)
10. Find The Hidden Door (Ibc Acetate)
11. Children Of The Sun (Ibc Acetate 1)
12. Who's Been Talking
13. You Don't Have To Go
14. I'm Not Talking (Gold Star Version)
15. Children Of The Sun (Ibc Acetate 2)
16. She Got Me (Version 1)
17. I Need Your Love
18. I Cried My Eyes Out
19. Cryin' Over Luv
20. End Of Time
21. Like I Do
22. She Got Me (Version 2)
23. Why
24. Bury My Body
25. Don't Break Me Down
26. Got Love If You Want It
27. Thunder 'N Lightnin'
28. I Unseen (Riverside Version)
29. Shake Your Moneymaker
30. I Just Want To Make Love To You
31. You Got Me Dizzy
32. Goin' To New York
33. Blues With A Feeling

More Info:

The Misunderstood must rank as one of the greatest cult bands of the sixties psychedelia era. The band began forging their innovative sound in Riverside, California, where they were discovered by DJ John Peel (then working in the US as John Ravenscroft). Having cut a few recordings locally, the band relocated to the UK on Peel's recommendation. In London, The Misunderstood signed to Fontana Records to cut what are considered six landmark tracks. Issued that December, 'I Can Take You To The Sun' remains a high watermark of the original psychedelia era and was backed by an explosive version of Bo Diddley's 'Who Do You Love', but the band broke up soon afterwards when singer Rick Brown was drafted. A second single, the blistering psych rock of 'Children Of The Sun' (backed by the anti-war gem 'I Unseen') was belatedly issued in February 1969 when a new line-up of the band re-signed to the label. In 1982, Cherry Red released the landmark compilation LP, Before The Dream Faded, which not only unveiled two further Fontana recordings, the high octane 'Find The Hidden Door' and 'My Mind' but also collated seven archive tracks from the band's Riverside days. Since then, additional recordings have surfaced on various retrospectives. CHILDREN OF THE SUN finally assembles The Misunderstood's entire known output from 1965-1966 onto one package, suitably re-mastered by Alec Palao. With incisive sleeve-notes from Mike Stax (Ugly Things) and involvement with various original band members, and a handsome design from Andy Morten (Shindig!), this is truly the definitive document of a legendary underground band, assembled by those who love their music.