Merrell Fankhauser - Goin Round In My Mind: Anthology 1964-1979 (Box) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Goin Round In My Mind: Anthology 1964-1979 (Box)
Artist: Merrell Fankhauser
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 10/28/2022
UPC: 5013929192003

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Please Be Mine
2. Don't Call on Me
3. Send Me Your Love
4. Shake My Hand
5. Long, Long Time
6. Don't Let Go
7. Remember Me
8. Pain in My Heart
9. Let the Time Go By
10. Let Me Go
11. Can't We Get Along
12. She's Gone
13. Run Baby Run
14. Make It Back to Memphis
15. Love Only You
16. You've Been Untrue
17. Boys
18. Rave on
19. That's All I Want from You
20. Lila
21. The Music Scene
22. Sorry for Yourself
23. Glass Chandelier
24. Tomorrow's Girl
25. Suzie Cryin' (Aka I Saw Suzie Crying)
26. Mr. Clock
27. Gone to Pot
28. No Retreat
29. Too Many Heartbreaks
30. When I Get Home
31. Supermarket
32. The War
33. Yes I Love You
34. Be a Good Neighbor Week
35. Things (Goin' Round in My Mind)
36. Girl (I'm Waiting for You)
37. What Does She See in You
38. Lost in the City
39. Your Painted Lives
40. Drivin' Sideways (On a One Way Street)
41. In a Minute Not Too Soon
42. A Visit with Ashiya
43. The Big Gray Sky
44. Rich Man's Fable
45. Ice Cube Island
46. Madame Silky
47. I'm Flying Home (B-Side)
48. Tampa Run (B-Side)
49. Ev'rybody's Talkin' (A-Side)
50. Ain't No Blues
51. Ballad of Brother Lew
52. Blue Form
53. Interlude
54. Nobody Wants to Shine
55. Eternal Thirst
56. Too Naked for Demetrius
57. Mumbella Baye Tu la
58. The Clouds Went That Way
59. Bonus Tracks
60. You've Been Here Before (B-Side)
61. One More Day (A-Side)
62. On Our Way to Hana (A-Side)
63. The Land of Mu
64. Make a Joyful Noise
65. Haleakala
66. Blue Jay Blue
67. Showering Rain
68. I Saw Your Photograph
69. It's Love That Sings the Song
70. You and I
71. Calling from a Star
72. Waiting for the Sun
73. Children of the Rainbow
74. Who Will Write This Song
75. Daybreak Sunshine
76. Drink from the Fountain
77. The Love We Bare
78. In Mu
79. You're Not the Only One
80. End of An Era
81. Earth News Interview
82. The Awakening
83. Lovely Lady
84. I Saw Your Photograph
85. We Were All Free
86. On Our Way to Hana
87. Make a Joyful Noise
88. Garden in the Rain
89. Waterfall
90. La la Does the Boo Ru
91. Sail It Over the Ocean
92. Love Is All There Is
93. The Source
94. Some of Them Escaped
95. The Wind Cries Maui
96. Peace in the World
97. Matthew's Dream
98. Dharmic Connection
99. Calling from a Star

More Info:

Career anthology of Los Angeles-based musician Merrell Fankhauser described by one pundit as "the cult artist's cult artist". Includes his work as a solo performer and fronting such collectable garage rock/ psychedelic acts as The Exiles, Fapardokly, HMS Bounty and Mu. An integral player on the Southern California music scene, the young Merrell Fankhauser's budding career took off in 1964 after his family relocated to the Antelope Valley area of the Western Mojave Desert. With the likes of Frank Zappa and Captain Beefheart also active in the area, Frankhauser hooked up with 14-year-old guitarist Jeff Cotton to form Merrell And The Exiles, a teen pop outfit who had a couple of local hits. In 1967 Merrell put together Fapardokly, whose limited edition LP is now one of the rarest US psychedelic albums. Fapardokly mutated into HMS Bounty, signed by UNI Records president Russ Regan. An HMS Bounty album was headed by 'Things (Goin' Round In My Mind)', an insidious slice of bubblegum that fell just short of becoming a hit single. HMS Bounty then gave way to Mu, a partial reformation of The Exiles that reunited Merrell with Jeff Cotton, who meanwhile had been a key member of Captain Beefheart's band during the 'Trout Mask Replica' days. After an acclaimed 1971 album, Mu moved to the Hawaiian island of Maui before breaking up. Merrell stayed on the island, living in a self-built jungle cabin and recording 'The Maui Album' before returning to the mainland. A 6CD that includes the various 1964-1979 albums and singles in their entirety as well as numerous out-takes from the same time-frame, 'Goin' Round In My Mind' - newly- remastered, and featuring a new 5000 word essay - is a fitting tribute to the prodigious career of a legendary cult talent.