Desmond Dekker - Double Dekker (W/Dvd) (Exp) [Remastered] (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. It Meik
2. Look What They're Doing to Me
3. Please Don't Bend
4. My Reward
5. Little Darling
6. Life of Opportunity
7. When I'm Cold
8. Archie Wah Wah
9. Hippopotamus 1
10. Warlock 1
11. Licking Stick 1
12. What Will You Gain 1
13. Trample 1
14. The More You Live (Aka Live and Learn) 1
15. Go and Tell My People 1
16. Reggae Recipe 1
17. Yakety Yak 1
18. The Song We Used to Sing (Aka Where Did It Go) 1
19. The First Time for a Long Time 2
20. Stop the Wedding 2
21. Mother Nature 2
22. Life Hope and Faith 2
23. Generosity 2
24. Pickney Gal (Alternate Version) 2
25. Hippopotomus (Alternate Version) 2
26. Licking Stick (Alternate Version) 2
27. Reggae Recipe (Alternate Version) 2
28. Father Noah

More Info:

Making his mark on the international recording scene with a series of global hits in the late Sixties and early Seventies, Desmond Dekker enjoyed success on a scale no other Jamaican act had experienced. So in 1972, when the singer left the world's leading reggae record company, Trojan Records, to join the newly launched rival Creole, the move sent shockwaves through the UK's music industry. In response, Trojan gathered some of the singer's biggest hits alongside rare and previously unreleased material from the archive, which they issued on the aptly-titled double LP set, "Double Dekker". Much to the chagrin of Creole, the collection swiftly became one of Trojan's biggest selling long players of 1973, it's release eclipsing the singer's recently recorded work for his new label. Now, 45 years after it's original release, "Double Dekker" is finally available once more, with the track-listing augmented with six rare bonus tracks. Avoiding any cross-over of material with companion volumes, "You Can Get It If You Really Want" (DBCD015) and "Action! & Intensified" (DBCDD025), the collection ensures Desmond Dekker's entire Leslie Kong-produced rock steady and reggae output is available for the much-missed performer's fans.