Derrick Morgan - Derrick Morgan & His Friends (Exp) (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top

RecordStore Day

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Derrick Morgan & His Friends (Exp) (Uk)
Artist: Derrick Morgan
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 07/19/2019
UPC: 5013929273931

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Bad Luck On Me - Derrick Morgan
2. Father Killam - Derrick Morgan
3. Tears On My Pillow - Derrick Morgan
4. Ain't That Crazy - Derrick Morgan
5. Lagga Head - Derrick Morgan
6. Stumbling Block - Derrick Morgan ; The Viceroys
7. I've Been Searching - Pauline Morgan ; The Loveletts
8. Stop The Wedding - Pauline Morgan ; The Loveletts
9. Give Me A Chance - Pauline Morgan ; The Consumates 1
10. The More They Get - The Consumates 1
11. You've Been Saying Things - The Black Brothers 1
12. Music Be The Food Of Love - The Inventors 1
13. Conquering Ruler - Derrick Morgan 1
14. You've Got To Cry - The Groovers 1
15. Lip And Tongue - The Viceroys 1
16. I'm Indebted - Alva Lewis 1
17. Family War - Neremiah Reid 1
18. Someone - Derrick Morgan ; Pauline 1
19. Gimme Back (1968 Version) - Derrick Morgan 2
20. Send Requests - The Viceroys 2
21. Give Me That Love - Neremiah Reid 2
22. When Am I Gonna Be Free - Dawn Penn 2
23. Give It To Him - The Viceroys 2
24. Every Day - Zanda Ferron 2
25. Do You Love Me - Derrick ; Pauline 2
26. Some Come, Some Go - Frank Brown 2
27. Give Me Loving - The Black Brothers 2
28. Let Him Go - The Viceroys 2
29. A Prisoner In Love - Derrick Morgan 3
30. Lonely World - Zanda Ferron 3
31. Treat Me Right - The King Twins 3
32. Do It Now - The Consumates 3
33. Bedweight - Derrick Morgan 3
34. Red Rum Ball - Lloyd ; Devon 3
35. (Red) Big Bum Ball Chapter Two - Tony King 3
36. More Balls - Mark Anthony ; The Jets

More Info:

Two CD set. The rock steady era that dominated Jamaica's musical landscape between late-1966 and mid-1968 is today widely acknowledged as the most influential period in the island's history. Not only did the sound lay the foundations upon which reggae subsequently developed, it's structure favored small combos rather than the large ensembles that dominated the ska years, resulting in significantly reduced recording costs. The development provided cash-strapped music makers with the opportunity to make records and one who took full advantage was enterprising local singing sensation, Derrick Morgan. Distributed in the UK by Island Records, the popularity of his works ultimately led to the company releasing the now impossibly rare long-player, Derrick Morgan And His Friends, a 12-track collection largely comprising previously unissued material. Now, at long last, this hugely desirable album is available once more, with it's contents supplemented by the remainder of Derrick Morgan's rock steady productions. Recorded at Jamaica's premiere recording studio, WIRL, and featuring the musicianship of leading session crews, the Carib Beats and Lyn Taitt & the Jets, the quality of the tracks remains consistently high, and with a handful of these enjoyable sides making their CD debut, this stunning set is a dream come true for any self-respecting rock steady fan!