Junior Byles - Beat Down Babylon: Original Album Plus (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top

RecordStore Day

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Beat Down Babylon: Original Album Plus (Uk)
Artist: Junior Byles
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 07/03/2020
UPC: 5013929276031

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Da Da
2. I've Got A Feeling
3. Don't Know Why
4. Demonstration And Protest
5. Coming Again
6. Beat Down Babylon
7. A Place Called Africa
8. Joshua's Desire
9. A Matter Of Time 1
10. Poor Chubby 1
11. Come Da Da 1
12. Come Da Da Version 1
13. Righteous Oily 1
14. Beat Down Babylon Ital Version 1
15. Informer Men 1
16. Outformer Version 1
17. Africa Stand 1
18. Education Rock 1
19. King Of Babylon 2
20. King Of Babylon Version 2
21. Got The Tip 2
22. Fever 2
23. Lick The Pipe Peter 2
24. Pharaoh Hiding 2
25. Hail To Power 2
26. Another Moses 2
27. Rub Up Festival '71 2
28. The Thanks We Get (First Version) 2
29. Curley Locks 3
30. Lock And Key 3
31. Dreader Locks 3
32. Miiltant Rock 3
33. The Thanks We Get (Second Version) 3
34. Xylophone Rock 3
35. Now Generation 3
36. The Long Way 3
37. Longer Way 3
38. Auntie Lulu 3
39. Fun And Games 4
40. Motion Dub 4
41. Mumbling And Grumbling 4
42. King Size Mumble 4
43. Cutting Razor 4
44. Rasta No Pickpocket 4
45. Pick Pocket Skank 4
46. Pretty Baby 4
47. Pretty Dub 4
48. When Will Better Come 4
49. The Thanks We Get (Third Version) 5
50. Ungrateful Skank 5
51. Curley Locks (Alt. Version)

More Info:

Digitally remastered and expanded edition. Released in 1972, the Junior Byles single 'Beat Down Babylon' provided one of the clearest indications to date of the impending roots sound that would soon dominate reggae. The immense popularity of the Lee 'Scratch' Perry-produced 45, both in Jamaica and the UK, swiftly prompted a best-selling long-player of the same title, issued later that year. Comprising ten of the singer-songwriter's recent recordings for the mighty Upsetter, the LP has since been re-issued on vinyl on a number of occasions, but has never been officially made available on CD until now. Now, at long last, Beat Down Babylon does finally make it onto the format, with the original track-listing bolstered by the remainder of Byles' released work for Perry, which includes numerous Jamaican hits, most notably the 1974 smash, 'Curley Locks'.