Explosive Rock Steady: Expanded Original / Various - Explosive Rock Steady: Expanded Original / Various | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top


Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. I'm Moving on - Keith Blake
2. Miss Tourist - Errol Dunkley ; the Pioneers
3. Just Like a River - Stranger ; Gladdy
4. Uncle Sam's Country - Dennis Walks
5. Long Shot - the Pioneers
6. Train to Soulsville - Cool Sticky
7. Love Love Everyday - Errol Dunkley ; the Pioneers
8. Hold Them Aka Feel Good - Roy Shirley
9. Come Brothers - Hugh Malcolm
10. Give Me a Little Loving - the Pioneers
11. Push It in - the Versatiles
12. Love Brother, Love Sister - Errol Dunkley
13. Sleepy Ludy - Lyn Taitt ; the Jets
14. That's the Way You Like It - the Overtakers
15. Seeing Is Knowing - Stranger ; Gladdy
16. You're Gonna Need Me - Errol Dunkley
17. Feel So Fine - Tommy McCook ; His Band
18. Be Good - Roy Shirley
19. Musically - Keith Blake
20. Just Can't Win - the Versatiles
21. Fat Girl in Red - the Mellotones
22. Someday Someway - the Leaders
23. Music Is the Key - Roy Shirley
24. Girl You Ruff - the Overtakers
25. I'm Going Home - Errol Dunkley
26. Tit for Tat - Neville Hinds
27. I Am the Upsetter - Lee 'King' Perry
28. The Scorcher - Errol Dunkley
29. Great Great in '68 - Lord Salmons
30. Please Stop Your Lying - Errol Dunkley
31. The Big Takeover - the Overtakers
32. Hope Someday - the Leaders
33. Trust the Book - the Versatiles
34. Dance the Auna - Roy Shirley
35. Having a Party - Dennis Walks
36. Now I'm All Alone - Victor Morris ; Girlie
37. Seek and You'll Find - Errol Dunkley
38. Thankyou Baby - Lee 'King' Perry
39. Day By Day - the Groovers
40. Sometimes I Sit Down and Cry - the Leaders
41. I Want to Go Home - Derrick Morgan
42. I'm Not Your Man - Errol Dunkley
43. Meet Me at Eight - the Creations
44. The World Needs Love - Roy Shirley
45. Soulful Mood - Vin Gordon
46. Woo Oh Oh - Keith Blake
47. Do Right Tonight - Errol Dunkley
48. I Spy - Lyn Tait ; the Jets
49. Kimble - Lee 'King' Perry
50. Fall and Rise - Victor Morris
51. Cinderella - Eric 'Monty' Morris
52. Searching - the Creations
53. The Time Has Come - the Versatiles
54. My Friends - the Dynamics
55. Dee's Special - Lyn Taitt ; the Jets
56. The Return of Ezekiel - the Jupitors
57. Hold Them (Alt. Take) - Roy Shirley
58. Upsetter Version - Lyn Taitt ; the Jets

More Info:

First released by Trojan Records in 1968, "Explosive Rock Steady" was the first long-player to showcase the work of a budding record producer who in time would become one of the most popular and influential figures on the Jamaican music scene: Joel Augustus Gibson a. k. a. Joe Gibbs. Unavailable on CD since 1997, the much sought-after album is here augmented by an incredible 46 bonus tracks from the rock steady era, their number including numerous Jamaican hits, alongside many long-lost rarities, including 7 tracks new to CD. Featured artists on this double disc set include some of the most talented Jamaican performers to make their mark during the tail end of the Sixties, with the superior quality of the recordings demonstrating the high standards of work for which Gibbs would soon become renowned.