Pioneers - Greetings From The Pioneers: Expanded Original | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Greetings From The Pioneers: Expanded Original
Artist: Pioneers
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 08/13/2021
UPC: 5013929278431

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Rainbow Seeker
2. In All My Wildest Dreams
3. There Are Many Stops Along the Way
4. Melodies of Love
5. Fly with Wings of Love
6. As Long As It Lasts
7. Islands in the Rain
8. Together We'll Find a Way
9. Carmel
10. Paintings
11. Cannery Row
12. A Rainy Day in Monterey
13. Sunrise
14. Midnight and Mist
15. 'Carmel' (Continued)
16. More Beautiful Each Day
17. Voices in the Rain
18. Voices in the Rain
19. Burnin' Up the Carnival
20. Greener Grass
21. Eye of the Hurricane
22. Dream of Dreams
23. Shadows
24. Sonata in Solitude
25. Bonus Tracks
26. Melodies of Love (7" Version)
27. Burnin' Up the Carnival (7" Version)
28. Dream of Dreams (7" Edit)

More Info:

Although the Sydney Crooks-led Pioneers were already veterans of Jamaican music scene when, in 1967, they came to join the small roster of the then rookie producer Joe Gibbs, the vocal trio had as yet failed to achieve any significant success. Within a year, however, they were regulars in the national charts, with significant hits including 'Long Shot', 'Jackpot', 'Catch The Beat' and 'No Dope Me Pony'. In recognition of their popularity both at home and in the UK, London-based Trojan Records released an entire collection showcasing the best of their work to date: 'Greetings From The Pioneers'. Issued on the Amalgamated subsidiary label that had been created as a vehicle for Gibbs's works, the set became an essential purchase for many both in the UK's growing Afro-Caribbean community and among a rapidly expanding young, white working class fanbase. Now, over half a century since his historic release, the collection finally sees release on CD, with it's original 12 tracks augmented by an astounding 48 Joe Gibbs-produced recordings from the period. Included are numerous major Jamaican chart hits and equally obscure recordings from the archives.