Niney The Observer Presents Lighthing & Thunder - Niney The Observer Presents Lighthing & Thunder | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Pepper Seed - Ranny Williams ; the Spokes
2. Music Police - the Sound Dimension
3. Skankey - Leroy 'Horsemouth' Wallace
4. Twin Spin - Ranny Williams ; the Spokes
5. Cocaine Doctor - Niney
6. Bawling for Mercy - Dennis Alcapone ; Lizzy
7. Apollo Rocket - Lloyd Willis
8. Omega - Niney
9. Mr. Brown's Coffin - Dennis Alcapone ; Lizzy
10. Blood ; Fire - Niney ; the Observers
11. Lightning ; Thunder - Niney
12. Mud ; Water - Niney
13. Brimstone ; Fire (Blood ; Fire) - Niney
14. Message to the Ungodly - Niney
15. You Must Believe Me - Dennis Alcapone
16. Keep on Pushing - Niney ; the Heptones
17. Strong Man Medley - Eric 'Monty' Morris
18. Psalms 9 to Keep in Mind - Tommy McCook
19. Chapter 10 - the Observers
20. Observing the Ave. - Niney
21. Everyday Music - Niney
22. Pick Your Choice - Niney
23. The Coming of Jah - Max Romeo ; Niney
24. The Road to Zion - Niney ; the Observers
25. Hiding By the Riverside - Niney ; the Observers
26. The Red Sea - the Observers
27. Rebel Ride - Dennis Alcapone
28. Aily ; Ailaloo - Niney ; Max Romeo
29. Episode II - Niney ; the Observers
30. Bearded Men Feast - Max Romeo ; Niney
31. International Pum Pum - Niney the Observer
32. Reggaematic - Niney the Observer
33. Big Hole - Niney the Observer
34. Another Pum - the Observers
35. Pop a Water - Captain Jack Morgan
36. Ital Buddy - the Virgins
37. The Woodpecker - Niney ; the Observers
38. Wet Panty - Niney the Observer
39. Discharge No. 2 - Niney ; the Observers
40. Rasta Band Wagon - Max Romeo
41. When Jah Speaks - Murt, Turt ; Purt
42. Beg in the Gutter - Niney ; the Observers
43. In the Gutter - Niney ; the Observers
44. Time Hard Aka Promises- Max Romeo
45. Time Hard Version - the Hardy Boys
46. Honey Baby - Niney the Observer
47. Forward Pipe - Niney ; Ken Elliott

More Info:

22 tracks new to CD. Includes numerous Jamaican hits. Features some of the most influential reggae recordings of all time. By the close of the 1960s, a number of dynamic independent record producers were beginning to make their mark on Jamaica's fast developing music scene. Chief among these initially small-time music-makers were the likes of Lee 'Scratch' Perry, 'Edward 'Bunny' Lee and the man whose music provides the focus of this 2CD collection, Winston Holness AKA 'Niney'. As the 70s dawned, the ingenuity, innovation and determination of these three talented individuals saw their influence grow at such a rate and to such an extent that by the middle of the decade, their hit-rate matched and often exceeded that of such long-established major operators as Byron Lee of Dynamic Sounds, Studio One's Coxson Dodd, and the Khouri family who controlled Federal Records. But while the music and careers of both Perry and Lee have been rightly celebrated by numerous writers and on seemingly countless compilations over the past few decades, until now, the achievements and influence of Niney have been largely overlooked. This collection is the first in a series of sets that aims to put the record straight and present the very best of his output during key parts of his music career, commencing with the initial independent productions that provided the launchpad to a long and illustrious career in music. Featuring numerous hits, including the ground-breaking 'Blood & Fire', 'Message To The Ungodly', 'Hiding By The Riverside', 'Beardman Feast', 'Rasta Bandwagon' and 'When Jah Speak', the 2CD set presents 20+ tracks that have remained largely unavailable for over half a century. A must for fans of early reggae sounds, 'Lightning & Thunder' also presents a fascinating opportunity to the as-yet uninitiated to enjoy and experience some of the earliest authentic dub and roots tracks ever recorded. This is where it all began!