Niney The Observer Presents Dreadlocks Coming To - Niney The Observer Presents Dreadlocks Coming To | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Silver Words - Ken Boothe
2. Rasta No Born Ya - Sang Hug
3. The Bold One - the Observers
4. Salt ; Pepper - Winston Wright
5. Hey Little Girl - Hubert Lee
6. No Portion a Gal - Sang Hugh
7. Melancholy Rock - Winston Wright
8. Have Some Mercy - Delroy Wilson
9. Different Fashion - the Observers
10. Beardman Shuffle - Ansel Collins
11. Hail I Aka Taking a View - Niney
12. Let Your Love Come - Keeling Beckford
13. Half Way Up the Stairs - Delroy Wilson
14. Children of the Ghetto - Astley Bennett
15. Dub from the Ghetto - the Observers
16. King Rasta - the Meditators
17. Sugar Pie - Delroy Wilson
18. New Style - Niney ; the Observers
19. Wild Goose Chase - Big Youth ; Dennis Brown
20. Inbound Train - Ansel Collins Meets the Observer
21. One Train Load of Collie - Tommy McCook ; the Observers
22. Train from the West - U Roy
23. Daughter Gets Hot - Niney ; the Observers
24. Ride on Ride on - Big Youth ; Dennis Brown
25. Pressure Locks - Niney ; the Observers
26. Ital Correction - Niney the Observer
27. Selassie Ship - Niney the Observer
28. Babylonian - Earth ; Stone
29. Fire Bunn - Big Youth
30. Fire Organ - the Observers
31. Mr. Finnigan - Big Youth
32. Bring the Cuchie Come - Niney
33. Cuchie Dub - the Observer
34. For I - David Jahson
35. In the Morning - Roman Stewart
36. False Rasta - Delroy Wilson
37. Clap the Ba Ba - Michael Rose
38. Leggo the Wrong - Astley Bennett
39. Leggo the Wrong Version - Astley Bennett
40. Push de Broom - Max Romeo
41. Impact Program - the Observers
42. African Train - Errol Flabba Holt
43. Bur O Boy - Junior Byles
44. Nice and Easy - Horace Andy
45. Nice Version - the Observers
46. Every Natty Wants to Go Home - Junior Delgado
47. Dreadlocks Coming for Dinner - Michael Rose
48. Prophesy Fulfil - Glasford Manning
49. Zorro - Tommy McCook ; the Observers

More Info:

15 tracks new to CD. Collects some of the biggest Jamaican hits of the early-to-mid 70s. Having enjoyed his first major Jamaican hit in 1971 with the ground-breaking single 'Blood And Fire', Winston Holness aka Niney 'The Observer' set about establishing a reputation as one of the island's most accomplished and innovative record producers. Within two years of his breakthrough hit, he had built a strong fan-base both within the land of his birth and in the UK, having issued a series of popular singles featuring himself and a small but impressive roster of local artists that included Big Youth, Max Romeo, Delroy Wilson and U Roy. 'Guess Who's Coming To Dinner' comprises the very best of these works, commencing with Ken Boothe's hugely popular 1973 Jamaican chart-topping version of 'Silver Words'. Other highlights include Delroy Wilson's popular interpretations of 'Halfway Up The Stairs' and 'I Can't Help Myself' while there are also numerous early roots classics, most notably the title track, 'Rasta No Born Ya', 'Nice And Easy', 'Every Natty Want To Go Home'. Including 15 tracks that have remained unavailable on any format since their original release in the 70s, this 2CD collection demonstrates why Niney deserves to be ranked among the finest music makers to have first made their mark on the Jamaican music scene during the most creative period in the long and illustrious history of reggae music.