Jah Wobble - Dark Luminosity: 21st Century Collection (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Jah Wobble - Dark Luminosity: 21st Century Collection (Uk)
Dark Luminosity: 21st Century Collection (Uk)
Artist: Jah Wobble
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 04/21/2023
UPC: 5013929304895

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. There Was a Young Man with a Bass (Spoken Word)
2. As Night Falls: Part 1
3. As Night Falls: Part 2
4. Lam Tang Way
5. Lam Tang Way (Female Vocal)
6. Full on
7. Shout at the Devil
8. La Citadelle
9. Fly 3
10. Fly 9
11. Calm Within the Storm
12. Fight Scene
13. Jeck, Drums, 2 Basses
14. Singing
15. Cannily Cannily
16. Plato (Spoken Word)
17. Post Modern (Spoken Word)
18. Unquiet Grave
19. Elevator Music 4
20. Elevator Music 9
21. Mu
22. Softwear
23. Four (Edit)
24. I Know You're Here
25. I Want
26. Looking Up at the Sky Again
27. No No No
28. And There Was the Sea
29. And Some May Say
30. Whatever Happens
31. Solitude
32. Car Ad Music 8
33. Kokiriko
34. Ma
35. Cadiz
36. Brazil
37. Dub (Spoken Word)
38. Air (Spoken Word)
39. Blowout
40. City Meets Country
41. Psychic Life
42. Wealth
43. Terminus
44. Spanish Place
45. Cosmic Blueprint
46. Mandala
47. Sabri = Patience
48. Sudani Manayo
49. Chunk of Funk
50. Cuban Dub
51. L'autoroute Sans Fin
52. Sacred (Spoken Word)
53. Mind in Turmoil
54. Humans Are Full of It
55. The Perfect Beat
56. Dark Luminosity
57. Fly Away
58. Take My Hand
59. Nocturne
60. Mooching About
61. Lockdown 7 (Reprise)
62. End of Lockdown Dub
63. Choral Ocean Dub
64. Dim Sum (Edit)
65. Guangzhou Funk
66. Tyson Dub

More Info:

A four-CD anthology of highlights from this century - a period now spanning half of Jah Wobble's career and yet somehow overlooked. Annotated and co-compiled by Wobble himself. For nearly half a century, Jah Wobble has been making music drawn from influences from all over the globe, always rooted in his unique, distinctive approach to the bass that underpins everything, from the opening riff of 'Public Image' by PiL in 1978 to his latest endeavours. The 2000s coincided with a change, as he and his family had just relocated to just outside Stockport, south of Manchester. What followed has proven to be a productive, creative fertile period, away from the bustle of the capital, making records which - for the most part - were self-produced, often on his own 30 Hertz label. Along the way, Wobble dipped into myriad styles and influences with a dizzying array of collaborators. Eventually, he settled with a new- look Invaders Of The Heart which has been the backbone of his music for the last decade. Presented in chronological order, starting with selections from several albums released around 2000-2002, some with Deep Space, Temple Of Sound and Evan Parker. Disc 1 embraces jazz ('Full On'), folk ('Cannily Cannily'), ambient (both 'Fly' tracks), soundtrack contributions and dub (two versions of 'Lam Tang Way'). The second CD continues in that vein, embracing two higher profile albums recorded for Trojan, 'Mu' (2005) and 'Heart & Soul' (2007), plus selections from two albums inspired by music from Asia, 'Chinese Dub' (2008) and 'Japanese Dub' (2010). Spanning discs 2 and 3 are selections from one of JW's most accessible albums, 'Welcome To My World' (2010). After that, we hear collaborations with The Modern Jazz Ensemble, electronic band Marconi Union, Moroccan-born musicians Momo and Shakatak's Bill Sharpe, as well as Julie Campbell (alias LoneLady) on 'Psychic Life' (2012), JW's first venture on Cherry Red, which is now a home for much of his music. And Disc 4 spans the last half decade, with contributions from albums such as 'The Butterfly Effect'(2018), a reunion with Bill Laswell on 'Realm Of Spells' (2019) and, from the same year, 'Ocean Blue Waves' (which provides the appositely-named title track of this compendium). Also included are a handful of spoken word poetry tracks cherry-picked from Wobble's "book" set 'Odds & Sods & Dialogues' from 2013, which punctate the compilation with words from Wobble alongside his informative liner notes.