Alchemy Of Scott Lafaro: Young Meteor Of Thebass - Alchemy Of Scott Lafaro: Young Meteor Of Thebass | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Making Whoopee
2. In Your Own Sweet Way
3. Onilisor
4. Yesterdays
5. Serpent's Tooth
6. Waltz
7. Chasing Shadows
8. Flamingo
9. S'posin' 1
10. BeBop 1
11. (There Is) No Greater Love 1
12. Too Blue 1
13. Minor Lament 1
14. Satin Doll 1
15. Crow's Nest 1
16. Liz-Anne 1
17. Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams 1
18. Ballad Medley: I'm Glad There Is You / There's No You 1
19. It's All Right With Me 2
20. Cow Song 2
21. Misery (To Lady Day) 2
22. Someday My Prince will Come 2
23. Autumn Leaves 2
24. Blue In Green 2
25. Bee Tee's Minor Plea 2
26. Variants On A Theme of John Lewis (Django) Variant 1 2
27. Free Jazz: A Collective Improvisation 2
28. W.R.U 2
29. Haunted Heart 3
30. Nardis 3
31. Airegin 3
32. Gloria's Step (#2) 3
33. My Man's Gone (#2) 3
34. Alice In Wonderland (#2) 3
35. Jade Visions (#2) 3
36. My Foolish Heart 3
37. Waltz for Debby (#2) 3
38. Detour Ahead (#2) 3
39. Some Other Time

More Info:

Comprehensive 3CD set celebrating the life and work of Scott LaFaro. Scott LaFaro burst onto the scene in 1957-58 with breathtaking performances on the albums 'This is Pat Moran' and 'The Arrival of Victor Feldman'. He played with Monk and Dolphy and a host of others and studied the music of Sonny Rollins and Anton Webern along the way. He participated in the "sonic revolution" of Ornette Coleman's 'Free Jazz' Double Quartet and was an equal voice in one of the most wonderfully integrated units in the history of jazz, the first Bill Evans Trio. While still in his early twenties, LaFaro developed bass playing to a new level of facility. He had a gorgeous tone and unflagging melodicism; a lyrical sensibility that reached full expression with the extraordinary recordings of the Evans Trio made in late June of 1961 at the Village Vanguard, just days before the tragic automobile accident that took his life and robbed the jazz world of the most influential bassist of modern times. Scott set himself exacting standards and was rarely satisfied. While technically advanced, his development was grounded in feeling. His playing was cultured and exciting and it could break your heart. This anthology showcases some of the considerable recorded highlights of Scott LaFaro's short career including 'The Arrival of Victor Feldman' and 'Free Jazz: A Collective Improvisation by the Ornette Coleman Double Quartet' in their entirety and a quantity of selections from the Bill Evans Trio albums 'Sunday at the Village Vanguard' and 'Waltz for Debby'.