Neil Christian - He's Got The Action: Anthology 1962-1974 (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Neil Christian - He's Got The Action: Anthology 1962-1974 (Uk)
He's Got The Action: Anthology 1962-1974 (Uk)
Artist: Neil Christian
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 09/20/2024
UPC: 5013929432932

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Fountain Of Love
2. I Feel In A Mood
3. Just A Dream
4. Twenty Flight Rock
5. The Road To Love
6. The Big Beat Drum
7. A Little Bit Of Someone Else
8. Get A Load Of This
9. Honey Hush
10. One For The Money
11. Lifetime Of Loneliness
12. Give The Game Away
13. That's Nice
14. She's Got The Action
15. I Like It
16. Let Me In
17. Oops
18. She Said Yeah
19. Two At A Time
20. Wanna Lover
21. You're All Things Bright And Beautiful
22. I'm Gonna Love You Baby
23. Countdown
24. Bad Girl
25. Bit By Bit
26. Let Me Hear You Laugh
27. My Baby Left Me
28. Yakety Yak
29. Happy Go Lucky
30. I'm Living My Life
31. Crusading
32. Feel In The Mood
33. Ooh Poo Pah Doo
34. When I Was 16
35. Dedicated Follower Of Fashion
36. What Would Your Mama Say Now
37. I Remember
38. All Last Night
39. Oops (Live at the BBC 1966)
40. Neil Christian - That's Nice (Live at the BBC 1966)
41. The Road To Love (Early Version)
42. The Big Beat Drum (Early Version)
43. The Road To Love (No Overdubs)
44. The Road To Love (Overdubs Session Take 5)
45. The Big Beat Drum (No Overdubs)
46. The Big Beat Drum (Overdubs Session Take 1)
47. She's Got The Power
48. Someone's Following Me Around
49. Comet Kohoutek
50. Skylab Theme
51. Spaceman Boy
52. Golden Boy
53. Sandwich Board Man
54. Baby In Love (Two At A Time In German)
55. Was Ich Dir Noch Sagen Wollte (Oops In German)
56. Molly Melone (The Mulberry Tree)
57. Jeder Tag Hat 24 Stunden

More Info:

2CD set featuring 57 tracks including the A and B sides of Neil Christian's singles and EPs released in the UK, Germany, France and Portugal. Plus single sessions out-takes and his originally unreleased four song audition recorded for legendary producer Joe Meek, a BBC session, and more rarities. Musicians in Christian's band, The Crusaders included at different times a pre- Yardbirds and Led Zeppelin Jimmy Page, Deep Purple guitarist Ritchie Blackmore and pianist Nicky Hopkins. Christian's debut single, 'The Road To Love' was also the first released recording to feature the teenage Jimmy Page. Teaming up with producer Miki Dallon, Christian scored the UK Top 20 hit 'That's Nice' followed up by pirate radio favourite, 'Oops', and 'Two At A Time' and he supported the Small Faces on Radio England's Swinging 66 Tour that year. Christian became a star in Germany and had several releases there not issued in his home country including the wild 1968 single 'My Baby Left Me' backed by 'Yaketty Yak' that features the searing guitar playing of Ritchie Blackmore. Includes numerous rare tracks including Christian's four song audition for legendary producer Joe Meek and sessions for Christian's Meek produced debut single, 'The Road To Love' and B side, 'The Big Beat Drum', all taken from Meek's Tea Chest Tapes. We've included versions of the two songs from Christian's debut single without Meek's overdubs so the guitar played by Jimmy Page can be heard clearly for the first time. Never commercially released versions of the singles 'That's Nice' and 'Oops' feature, drawn from BBC World Service programme Top Of The Pops. 1974 recordings including 'She's Got The Power' show Christian experimenting with glam rock.