Barclay James Harvest - Barclay James Harvest & Other Short Stories (Ntr0) | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top

RecordStore Day

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Barclay James Harvest & Other Short Stories (Ntr0)
Artist: Barclay James Harvest
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 08/21/2020
UPC: 5013929472082

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Medicine Man
2. Someone There You Know
3. Harry's Song
4. Ursula (The Swansea Song)
5. Little Lapwing
6. Song with No Meaning
7. Blue John's Blues
8. The Poet
9. After the Day 1
10. Brave New World (John Lees Demo - July 1971) 1
11. Hymn to a White Lady (John Lees Demo - July 1971) (Previously Unreleased) 1
12. She Said (BBC Session 5th July 1971) 1
13. Galadriel (BBC Session 5th July 1971) 1
14. Ursula (The Swansea Song) (BBC Session 5th July 1971) 1
15. Someone There You Know (BBC Session 5th July 1971) 1
16. Medicine Man (BBC Session 15th March 1972) 1
17. Medicine Man 1
18. Someone There You Know 1
19. Harry's Song 2
20. Ursula (The Swansea Song) 2
21. Little Lapwing 2
22. Song with No Meaning 2
23. Blue John's Blues 2
24. The Poet 2
25. After the Day 2
26. Medicine Man (Us Album Version) (Previously Unreleased on CD) 2
27. Harry's Song (Us Album Version) (Previously Unreleased on CD) 2
28. Someone There You Know (Us Album Version) (Previously Unreleased on CD) 2
29. Medicine Man (Extended Mono Reduction Mix 1971) 3
30. Ursula (Mono Reduction Mix 1971) 3
31. Someone There You Know (Mono Reduction Mix 1971) 3
32. Medicine Man (
33. Surround ; New Stereo Mix) 3
34. Someone There You Know (
35. Surround ; New Stereo Mix) 3
36. Harry's Song (
37. Surround ; New Stereo Mix) 3
38. Ursula (The Swansea Song) (
39. Surround ; New Stereo Mix) 3
40. Little Lapwing (
41. Surround ; New Stereo Mix) 3
42. Song with No Meaning (
43. Surround ; New Stereo Mix) 3
44. Blue John's Blues (
45. Surround ; New Stereo Mix) 3
46. The Poet (Surround ; New Stereo Mix) 4
47. After the Day (
48. Surround ; New Stereo Mix)

More Info:

Digitally remastered, remixed and expanded three disc (two CDs + NTSC/Region 0 DVD) clamshell box edition of the classic album, Barclay James Harvest and Other Short Stories. Recorded and released in 1971, the album was the third by BJH and was recorded at Abbey Road studios and was co-produced by the band and ex-Pretty Things member Wally Allen. Widely regarded (along with Once Again) as one of the band's early masterpieces,... Other Short Stories featured such classic tracks as 'Medicine Man', 'Ursula (The Swansea Song)', 'The Poet' and the epic 'After the Day'. The album was critically acclaimed upon it's release by Harvest Records and was also issued by Sire Records in the United States with some remixed versions of tracks. The album also featured the Barclay James Harvest symphony orchestra conducted by Martyn Ford and arrangements by Toni Cooke and Martyn Ford. This expanded edition of... Other Short Stories comprises 40 tracks and features the original UK stereo mix remastered from the original master tapes and also includes a new stereo mix on a second CD and a high resolution 5. 1 Surround Sound mix, new stereo mix and original stereo mix on an NTSTC / Region free DVD, all from the original Harvest masters. In addition there are three rare US album versions of 'Medicine Man', 'Harry's Song' and 'Someone There You Know', along with five BBC Radio session tracks from July 1971 and March 1972, along with two rare John Lees demo recordings from 1971 and three mono reduction mixes made at Abbey Road studios in July 1971. The set also includes a lavishly illustrated booklet with a new essay and a replica poster.