Vinegar Joe - Finer Things: Island Recordings 1972-1973 [Remastered] | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top


Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Finer Things: Island Recordings 1972-1973 [Remastered]
Artist: Vinegar Joe
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 09/03/2021
UPC: 5013929477483

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Rusty Red Armour
2. Early Morning Monday
3. Ride Me Easy Rider
4. Circles
5. Leg Up
6. See the World
7. Never Met a Dog (That Took to Me)
8. Avinu Malkenu
9. Getting' Out
10. Live a Little, Get Somewhere
11. Speed Queen of Ventura
12. So Long
13. Charley's Horse
14. Rock N' Roll Gypsies
15. Falling
16. It's Gettin' to the Point
17. Whole Lotta Shakin' Going on
18. Buddy Can You Spare Me a Line?
19. Angel
20. No One Ever Do
21. Forgive Us
22. Rock N' Roll Gypsies (Single Version
23. Proud to Be (A Honky Woman)
24. Food for Thought
25. Dream My Own Dreams
26. Lady of the Rain
27. Stay True to Yourself
28. Black Smoke Rising from the Calumet
29. Giving Yourself Away
30. Talkin' 'Bout My Baby
31. Let Me Down Easy
32. Fine Thing
33. Long Way Round
34. Black Smoke Rising from the Calumet (Single Version)

More Info:

New Re-Mastered 3cd Clamshell Boxed Set Of The Classic Albums And Non-Album Singles By The Legendary Band Vinegar Joe Released Between 1972-1973. One of the great British bands of the early 1970s, Vinegar Joe were formed from the remnants of Dada and featured Elkie Brooks and Robert Palmer on vocals along with guitarist and visionary arranger Pete Gage. Renowned for their energetic live shows and engaging image. Sadly, their live reputation failed to deliver commercial success even following 1973's final album 'Six Star General' which featured stand out tracks including 'Black Smoke Rising From The Calumet', 'Fine Things' and 'Lady Of The Rain'. Following the band's demise, both Palmer and Brooks would go on to enjoy huge success as solo artists, while Gage became a noted producer and arranger. This three CD collection gathers together Vinegar Joe's three albums and their non-album singles, all remastered for the first time from the original Island Records master tapes and packaged in replica album sleeves. The set also includes an illustrated booklet with exclusive interviews with both Pete Gage and Elkie Brooks.