Steppenwolf - Magic Carpet Ride: The Dunhill / Abc Years 1967-71 | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top


Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Magic Carpet Ride: The Dunhill / Abc Years 1967-71
Artist: Steppenwolf
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 12/03/2021
UPC: 5013929477780

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Sookie Sookie
2. Everybody's Next One
3. Berry Rides Again
4. Hootchie Kootchie Man
5. Born to Be Wild
6. Your Wall's Too High
7. Desperation
8. The Pusher
9. A Girl I Knew
10. Take What You Need
11. The Ostrich
12. Sookie Sookie
13. Born to Be Wild
14. Everybody's Next One
15. Take What You Need
16. A Girl I Knew
17. The Ostrich
18. The Pusher
19. Berry Rides Again
20. Faster Than the Speed of Life
21. Tighten Up Your Wig
22. None of Your Doing
23. Spiritual Fantasy
24. Don't Step on the Grass Sam
25. 28
26. Magic Carpet Ride
27. Disappointment Number (Unknown)
28. Lost and Found By Trial and Error
29. Hodge, Podge, Strained Through a Leslie
30. Resurrection
31. Reflections
32. Magic Carpet Ride (Mono Single Version)
33. Spiritual Fantasy (Mono Single Version
34. Don't Cry
35. Chicken Wolf
36. Lovely Meter
37. Round and Down
38. It's Never Too Late
39. Sleeping Dreaming
40. Jupiter Child
41. She'll Be Better
42. Cat Killer
43. Rock Me
44. God Fearing Man
45. Mango Juice
46. Happy Birthday
47. Rock Me
48. Jupiter Child
49. 1It's Never Too Late 17 Happy Birthday
50. Power Play
51. Howlin' for My Baby 3 Goin' Upstairs
52. Corina, Corina
53. Tighten Up Your Wig 6 the Pusher

More Info:

Remastered From The Original Dunhill/Abc Master Tapes. Steppenwolf was formed in 1967 in LA by John Kay (vocals, guitar, harmonica), Goldy McJohn (organ, piano) and Jerry Edmonton (drums) who were previously members of the Canadian band The Sparrows. They were joined by Michael Monarch (lead guitar) and Rushton Moreve (bass). The band signed to Dunhill/ABC the same year and with producer Gabriel Mekler they recorded their self-titled debut album. The band were propelled to success with their classic single 'Born To Be Wild' (a #2 hit in the USA) and became even wider known when the track was featured, along with their version of 'The Pusher' in the classic 1969 counterculture film Easy Rider. 'The Second' was released in October '68 and featured the hit single 'Magic Carpet Ride' (another US #2 hit). In March '69 'At Your Birthday Party' was released to further success and was their first record to feature Nick St Nicholas on bass and their last to feature Michael Monarch. The July 1969 release 'Early Steppenwolf' featured live recordings made at The Matrix in San Francisco in May 1967 and featured a 20-minute version of 'The Pusher'. The band's next studio album, 'Monster', was issued in November 1969 and dealt with America's involvement in the Vietnam War. 1970 saw the band release two albums, the double LP 'Steppenwolf Live' and 'Steppenwolf 7'. By the release of the latter the band's popularity began to wain slightly, although they would retain a large and loyal fan base. Their November 1971 album 'For Ladies Only' was their last for Dunhill/ABC and Steppenwolf disbanded in February 1972 only to reform in 1974.