Spirogyra - Future Won't Be Long:- The Albums 1971-1973 (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Future Won't Be Long:- The Albums 1971-1973 (Uk)
Artist: Spirogyra
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 06/24/2022
UPC: 5013929480681

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. The Future Won't Be Long
2. Island
3. Magical Mary
4. Captain's Log
5. At Home In The World
6. Cogwheels, Crutches And Cyanide
7. Time Will Tell
8. We Were A Happy Crew
9. Love Is A Funny Thing
10. The Duke Of Beaufoot
11. Dangerous Dave
12. Van Allen's Belt
13. Runaway
14. Grandad
15. Wings Of Thunder
16. World's Eyes
17. Don't Let It Get You
18. Disraeli's Problem
19. A Canterbury Tale
20. Counting The Cars
21. Window
22. Turn Again Lane
23. Melody Maker Man
24. The Furthest Point
25. Old Boot Wine
26. Parallel Lines Never Separate
27. Spiggly
28. An Everyday Consumption Song
29. The Sergeant Says
30. In The Western World
31. I Hear You're Going Somewhere (Joe Really) (A-side of single)

More Info:

New 3cd Clamshell Boxed Set Of The Three Albums By Spirogyra Released Between 1971 And 1973. Spirogyra was formed by duo Martin Cockerham and Mark Francis in Bolton in 1968, but the band expanded when Cockerham was a student in Canterbury at the end of 1969. The expanded line-up featured Cockerham (guitar, vocals), Barbara Gaskin (lead vocals), Steve Borrill (bass) and Julian Cusack (violin, keyboards) and secured a contract with B&C Records in 1970. The band's impressive debut album, 'St Radigunds' was issued in 1971 and featured guest drummer Dave Mattacks and Tony Cox on VCS3 Synthesiser. In 1972 the band's second album, 'Old Boot Wine', was released on the Pegasus label, a "progressive" imprint established by B&C. Prior to the recording of the album Mark Francis re- joined the group, and the sessions also saw contributions from guest musicians Dave Mattacks (drums), Julian Cusack (violin, keyboards), Rick Biddulph (mandolin), Alan Laing (cello). With the demise of the Pegasus label, Spirogyra recorded their third album for Polydor. By this time Spirogyra had become a core of Martin Cockerham (guitar, vocals) and Barbara Gaskin (lead vocals) with Steve Borrill (bass) and guest musicians Dave Mattacks (drums), Julian Cusack (violin, keyboards), Henry Lowther (trumpet), John Boyce (cello), Stan Sulzman (flute) and Steve Ashley (whistle). Despite achieving critical praise, Spirogyra failed to enjoy commercial success which ultimately led to their demise. The trio of albums the band recorded between 1971 and 1973 featured music of innovation and originality and are arguably beyond classification. They remain highly regarded and are sought after by collectors and aficionados of the Progressive era. This collection features four bonus tracks recorded during sessions for 'Old Boot Wine' and the 1973 single release I Hear You're Going Somewhere (Joe Really).