Bill Nelson / Red Noise - Sound On Sound (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Don't Touch Me (I'm Electric)
2. For Young Moderns
3. Stop / Go / Stop
4. Furniture Music
5. Radar in My Heart
6. Stay Young
7. Out of Touch
8. A Better Home in the Phantom Zone
9. Substitute Flesh
10. The Atom Age
11. Art / Empire / Industry
12. Revolt into Style Bonus tracks
13. Wonder Toys That Last Forever
14. Acquitted by Mirrors (B-side of `Furniture Music' EP)
15. Stay Young (BBC session 17.02.1979)
16. Furniture Music (BBC session 17.02.1979)
17. Don't Touch Me (I'm Electric) (BBC session 17.02.1979)
18. Out of Touch (BBC session 17.02.1979)
19. Don't Touch Me (I'm Electric)
20. For Young Moderns
21. Stop / Go / Stop
22. Furniture Music
23. Radar in My Heart
24. Stay Young
25. Out of Touch
26. A Better Home in the Phantom Zone
27. Substitute Flesh
28. The Atom Age
29. Art / Empire / Industry
30. Revolt into Style Bonus tracks
31. Wonder Toys That Last Forever
32. Acquitted by Mirrors
33. My Light (previously unreleased) Recorded for the "Sound on Sound" sessions
34. Instantly Yours
35. Ideal Homes
36. Disposable

More Info:

Following the release of the album 'Drastic Plastic' and a subsequent tour, Bill Nelson disbanded Be Bop Deluxe. Aware of the emergence of the so-called New Wave artists and out of a desire to continually evolve and progress as a musician, he announced the formation of a new band, Red Noise. In hindsight Nelson's new venture can be seen as taking up the musical baton from where he left off with 'Drastic Plastic'. Working with co-producer John Leckie, Bill recorded a new wave masterpiece, a record that would influence a new generation of musicians with it's intelligent and punchy material. Upon it's release, Bill Nelson's Red Noise took to the road with a line-up of Andy Clark (keyboards), Ian Nelson (saxophone), Rick 'Pinky' Ford (bass) and Steve Peer (drums). 'Sound On Sound' and the subsequent live shows would divide opinion of both fans and critics, but with the passage of time, the album is now regarded as one of Bill Nelson's finest works and the band is viewed as a great musical unit. This 2CD set features a newly remastered original stereo mix (from the original master tapes), along with stunning a new stereo and mix by Stephen W Tayler. The set also includes two tracks from a 1979 EP and a further Red Noise studio session from May 1979.