Stomu Yamashta - Seasons: The Island Albums 1972-1976 (Box) (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Seasons: The Island Albums 1972-1976 (Box) (Uk)
Artist: Stomu Yamashta
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 08/05/2022
UPC: 5013929481190

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Poker Dice
2. Keep in Lane
3. Xingu
4. One Way
5. Scoop
6. Ana Orori
7. What a Way to Live in Modern Times
8. My Little Partner
9. Mandala
10. Memory of Hiroshima
11. Mountain Pass
12. Freedom Is Frightening
13. Rolling Nuns
14. Pine on the Horizon
15. Wind Words
16. One By One / Hey Man / One By One (Reprise)
17. Black Flame
18. Rain Race
19. Tangerine Beach
20. Superstar / Loxcycle
21. Nurburgring
22. Seasons
23. Accident
24. At Tangerine Beach
25. Dunes
26. 33 1/3
27. Rainsong
28. The Monks Song
29. Shadows
30. Ishi
31. Solitude
32. Nature
33. Air Over
34. Crossing the Line
35. Man of Leo
36. Stellar
37. Space
38. Space Requiem
39. Space Song
40. Carnival
41. Ghost Machine
42. Surf Spin
43. Time Sphere
44. Winner / Loser
45. Space Song
46. Carnival
47. Wind Spin
48. Ghost Machine
49. Surf Spin
50. Time Is Here
51. Winner / Loser
52. Solitude
53. Nature
54. Air Voice
55. Crossing the Line
56. Man of Leo
57. Stellar
58. Space Requiem

More Info:

The First Ever Boxed Set Celebrating The Work Of Stomu Yamashta For Island Records Between 1972 And 1976. Remastered Set Including The Albums 'Floating Music', 'The Man From The East', 'Freedom Is Frightening', 'One By One', 'Raindog', 'Go' And 'Go... Live From Paris'. Featuring Steve Winwood, Klaus Schulze, Michael Shrieve, Al Di Meola, Hugh Hopper, Gary Boyle, Morris Pert And More. Born in Kyoto, Japan, Yamashta studied music at Kyoto University and Berklee College of Music. His athletic and virtuoso percussion style came to prominence in the early 1970s when his work with the Red Buddha Theatre brought him to Europe. He teamed up with percussionist Morris Pert and members of his band Come To The Edge to record the album 'Floating Music' for Island Records in 1972. This was followed in 1973 by the release of the soundtrack album 'The Man From The East', which also featured Morris Pert and keyboard player Peter Robinson. Later the same year Yamashta formed the band East Wind with Gary Boyle (guitar), Hugh Hopper (bass) and Brian Gascoigne (keyboards) and recorded the excellent jazz rock album 'Freedom Is Frightening'. This was followed in 1974 by another soundtrack work, 'One By One', also featuring a fine ensemble of acclaimed jazz and rock musicians. The 1975 album 'Raindog'was met with critical acclaim and featured vocal contributions from singer Murray Head. 1976 would see Yamashta's work reach an ever wider public thanks to his contribution to the soundtrack of the film The Man Who Fell To Earth (starring David Bowie) and the release of his concept album 'Go'. The outstanding record saw him assemble a cast of outstanding musicians such as Steve Winwood (vocals, keyboards), Michael Shrieve (drums), Al Di Meola (guitar), Pat Thrall (guitar), Klaus Schulze (synthesisers) and Rosko Gee (bass). Featuring stunning arrangements by Paul Buckmaster, the album's fusion of rock, jazz and electronics was greeted with much acclaim. The success of 'Go', led to a series of live concerts in Europe featuring the musicians who had appeared on the album. A concert at the Palais des Sports in Paris in June 1976 was recorded and released later that year.