Goodhand-Phillip Tait - Gone Are The Songs Of Yesterday (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top


Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Gone Are The Songs Of Yesterday (Uk)
Artist: Goodhand-Phillip Tait
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 12/03/2021
UPC: 5013929784505

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Children of the Last War
2. Climb Aboard My Bus
3. In My World
4. One Road
5. (Heaven Help) Belinda
6. Lean on Me
7. Tramp
8. Gone Are the Songs of Yesterday
9. Once I Thought
10. Run See the Sun
11. Jeannie
12. When Tomorrow Comes
13. The Door Is Closing
14. Love Has Got Hold of Me
15. Too Pleased to Help
16. I Think I'll Write a Song
17. Who Laid Your Living Down
18. In the Old Country
19. Oh Rosanna
20. Cold Night
21. From Sunrise to Sunset
22. Silverwing
23. Jingle Jangle Man
24. Parents Eyes
25. Medicine Man
26. Drink in the Sunshine
27. I Didn't Know Myself
28. Everyday (Single Version)
29. That's Why a Woman Needs a Man
30. Oh Ryker
31. Motorways and Parking Bays
32. Cold Night (Instrumental Version)
33. Moon
34. Blue Day
35. Everyday
36. Leon
37. The Deserter
38. Country Green Ahead
39. When Will I Be Loved?
40. Not Really Here Right Now
41. Processed
42. Child of Jesus
43. New Moon Tonight
44. When That Day Comes
45. City Streets
46. Five Flight Walk Up
47. I Think I Can Believe
48. One More Rodeo
49. Teenage Canteen
50. Forever Kind of Love
51. You Are
52. Emile
53. Reach Out for Each Other
54. Sugar Train
55. Warm Summer Rain
56. Bonus Tracks
57. Almost Killed a Man
58. Sweet Emotion
59. Jesus Didn't Only Love the Cowboys

More Info:

A new 4-CD collection documenting Phillip Goodhand-Tait's prolific early '70s solo era, featuring four albums originally released on DJM (after he was signed to the label alongside another promising singer-songwriter, Elton John). All four titles - 'Rehearsal' (1970), 'I Think I'll Write A Song' (1971), 'Songfall' (1972) and 'Phillip Goodhand-Tait' (1973) - finally make their debut on CD in the UK. Compiled and overseen with Phillip's full involvement and blessing, 'Gone Are The Songs Of Yesterday' pays testament to his skills as both performer and composer. Each album features bonus tracks originally tucked away on 7" singles, as well as the added delight of three recordings from the previously unissued soundtrack for the 1971 film Universal Soldier. Phillip Goodhand-Tait is a renowned English singer-songwriter, producer and keyboard player. Through a long and varied career, dating back to his roots in the '60s club scene with The Stormsville Shakers, he has written songs covered by the likes of The Love Affair (including several hits), Gene Pitney and Roger Daltrey, played harmonium for Chris de Burgh and produced bands as diverse as Magnum, Venom, Climax Blues Band and Kid Creole And The Coconuts. 'Rehearsal', the first of the quartet, boasts string arrangements from Robert Kirby (Nick Drake, Elton John, etc. ), the perfect accompaniment for Phillip's many songs co-written with John Cokell. By the time of 'I Think I'll Write A Song' (1971), the band had mastered live performances and the record had a heavier, more guitar-based feel. 'I Think I'll Write A Song' reverted to a more intimate style, while 'Songfall' featured guest musicians including Ray Cooper and Rick Wakeman and re-interpretations of Buddy Holly's 'Everyday' and the Everly Brothers' 'When Will I Be Loved'. The eponymous final album of the quartet (1973), benefitting from DJM's huge worldwide success with a greater recording budget.