Iain Matthews - I Can't Fade Away: Rockburgh Years 1978-1984 (Box) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

I Can't Fade Away: Rockburgh Years 1978-1984 (Box)
Artist: Iain Matthews
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 04/01/2022
UPC: 5013929784604

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Gimme An Inch Girl
2. Don't Hang Up Your Dancing Shoes
3. King of the Night
4. Man in the Station
5. Let There Be Blues 6 Carefully Taught
6. Stealin' Home
7. Shake It
8. Yank ; Mary / Smile
9. Slip Away
10. Sail My Soul
11. Sing Senorita (Outtake)
12. Let There Be Blues (Demo)
13. Let Me Live Until I See You Again (Demo)
14. Shake It (Live)
15. Just One Look (Live)
16. Stealin' Home (Live)
17. Man in the Station (Live)
18. King of the Night (Live)
19. Payday (Live)
20. You Don't See Me
21. Survival
22. Heatwave
23. Home Somewhere
24. Crying in the Night
25. The Baby She's on the Street
26. Hearts on the Line
27. Anna
28. Lies
29. Runaway
30. You Don't See Me (Live)
31. Heatwave (Live)
32. Lies (Live)
33. No Reply (Live)
34. Hearts on the Line (Live)
35. I Survived the 70's
36. She May Call You Up Tonight
37. I Can't Fade Away
38. The Hurt
39. Driftwood from Disaster
40. Why Am I?
41. No Time at All (See How They Run)
42. For the Lonely Hunter
43. See Me
44. Civilisation 11 What Do I Do?
45. The Hurt Stayed (Demo)
46. In No Time at All (Demo)
47. For the Lonely Hunter (Live)
48. I Can't Fade Away (Live)
49. She May Call You Up Tonight (Live)
50. The Hurt (Live)
51. Driftwood from Disaster (Live)
52. No Time at All (See How They Run) (Live)
53. Civilisation (Live)
54. Payday (Live)
55. Shorting Out
56. Views (Dance Goes on)
57. Wild Places
58. Indiscreet
59. Wish
60. Driver
61. Tomorrow Falls on Saturday
62. Fear Strikes Out
63. Over Under Sideways Down
64. Room Service
65. Why Don't We Work on All This (Demo)
66. Work on All This
67. Better Not Stay (Demo)
68. What Do You Wish You Could Be (Demo)
69. Perfect Timing (Demo)
70. Voices (Demo)
71. Action (Demo)
72. Change (Demo)
73. On the Beach
74. Stealin' Home (Live)
75. Just One Look (Live)
76. Lonely Hunter (Live)
77. These Days (Live)
78. Man in the Station (Live)
79. Don't Hang Up Your Dancing Shoes (Live)
80. Gimme An Inch Girl (Live)
81. Call the Tune (Live)
82. Shake It (Live)
83. Payday (Live)
84. Slip Away (Live)
85. Brown Eyed Girl (Live)
86. Sights in Manhattan (Demo)
87. Views (Dance Goes on) (Demo)
88. Ndiscreet (Demo)
89. Out of My Range (Demo)
90. Shake It (Live)
91. Stealin Home (Live)
92. Gimme An Inch Girl (Live)
93. King of the Night (Live)
94. Man in the Station (Live)
95. Don't Hang Up Your Dancing Shoes (Live)
96. Call the Tune (Live)
97. Payday (Live)
98. I Can't Fade Away (Live)
99. Indiscreet (Live)
100. Shorting Out (Live)
101. Work on All This (Live)
102. Wild Places (Live)
103. Civilisation (Live)
104. Mr Soul (Live)

More Info:

This 6CD box set re-presents the four original albums from that era, 'Stealin' Home', 'Siamese Friends', 'Spot Of Interference' and 'Shook', alongside a wealth of previously unissued material culled both from Iain's own archive and the collections of fans worldwide. Iain's 1978 BBC In Concert special gets it's first official airing on CD; elsewhere, there's a wealth of live and demo material to delight even the most casual admirer of Matthews' music. Musician and singer-songwriter Iain Matthews should need no introduction. He was an original member of legendary folk rock band Fairport Convention from 1967 to 1969 before leaving to form Matthews Southern Comfort, who scored a UK number one in 1970 with Joni Mitchell's 'Woodstock'. In the early 1970s, as well as recording solo for Vertigo and Elektra, Iain played in folk rock "supergroup" Plainsong. Collectively, this body of work established Iain as a master-craftsman of both his own songs and those of others - a tradition he has continued to explore down the decades. After a mid-'70s spell with Columbia Records, he teamed up with his long-time producer Sandy Roberton for four albums across the late 1970s and early 1980s, a fertile period which is the subject of our first box set commemorating the various eras of Iain's long and illustrious career. Stateside, Iain was rarely more popular: in 1979, his cover of Terence Boylan's 'Shake It' reached No 13 on the US charts. A perfect slice of soft rock, 'Shake It' also rewarded him with a No 6 hit in Canada and made the Top 20 in New Zealand