Plainsong - Following Amelia: The 1972 Recordings & More (Box) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Following Amelia: The 1972 Recordings & More (Box)
Artist: Plainsong
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 10/14/2022
UPC: 5013929784703

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. For The Second Time
2. Yo Yo Man
3. Louise
4. Call The Tune
5. Diesel On My Tail
6. Amelia Earhart's Last Flight
7. I'll Fly Away
8. True Story Of Amelia Earhart
9. Even The Guiding Light
10. Side Roads
11. Raider
12. Along Comes Mary
13. Even The Guiding Light (alternative vocal)
14. Amelia Earhart's Last Flight
15. Any Day Woman
16. Call The Tune
17. The Poor Ditching Boy
18. Even The Guiding Light
19. Raider
20. Miss The Mississippi And You
21. Old Man At The Mill
22. Urban Cowboy
23. The Fault
24. Swinging Doors
25. Keep On Sailing
26. Miss The Mississippi And You
27. Home
28. First Girl I Loved
29. Save Your Sorrows
30. Nobody Eats At Linebaugh's Anymore
31. The Goodnight Loving Trail
32. All Around My Grandmother's Floor
33. That's All It Could Amount To
34. Bold Marauder
35. The Dance Goes On
36. Keep On Sailing
37. Urban Cowboy
38. Nobody Eats At Linebaugh's Anymore
39. All Around My Grandmother's Floor
40. The Goodnight Loving Trail
41. Bold Marauder
42. Tigers Will Survive
43. Seeds And Stems (Again)
44. For A Spanish Guitar
45. Any Day Woman
46. Truck Driving Man
47. Amelia Earhart's Last Flight
48. Yo Yo Man
49. I'll Fly Away
50. True Story of Amelia Earhart
51. Seeds And Stems (Again)
52. Any Day Woman
53. Take You To The Movies
54. Blue Blue Day
55. Miss The Mississippi And You
56. I Work For Jesus In The Personnel Department
57. I Don't Want To Talk About It
58. Save Your Sorrows

More Info:

118-track, 6CD box set from the legendary British country rock/folk rock band Plainsong. Features a 50th anniversary re-issue of their 1972 debut album 'In Search Of Amelia Earhart', digitally remastered from the original reel-to-reel master tapes. Contains over 50% previously unreleased material, including: several rare 1970s BBC recordings, the full original 1972 Folk Fairport concert in Amsterdam, and excerpts from the very first concert by the reformed Plainsong in Mayrhofen, Austria in 1993. Plus 2020 remakes of Amelia songs originally recorded to accompany Ian Clayton's book In Search Of Plainsong. Plainsong, formed in London in late 1971; comprised of singer Iain Matthews, who with Matthews Southern Comfort had a worldwide hit with Joni Mitchell's song 'Woodstock'; former Liverpool Scene and Everyone guitarist Andy Roberts; piano and bass player David Richards; and the New York guitarist Bobby Ronga. The four met at Iain's north London flat in December 1971 and worked throughout 1972, touring the UK and Europe, recording numerous sessions for the BBC plus two excellent albums (the second of which remained unreleased until 2005) before breaking up at the end of that year as Iain headed to California to begin a new career as a solo artist. With the addition of former Matthews Southern Comfort guitarist Mark Griffiths and singer/ songwriter Julian Dawson, they reformed in 1992, returning to the live stage again in Mayrhofen, Austria in August 1993 - their first concert in 21 years. For a while in the late 1990s, Julian was replaced in the band by Clive Gregson before returning again in 2003. This 6CD box set, released some 50 years after their 1972 debut with 'In Search Of Amelia Earhart', not only contains that album digitally remastered from the original tapes but also the 'Now We Are 3' second album, alongside a host of previously unissued tracks from Iain and Andy's own archives and from the collections of fans worldwide. Plainsong's 1972 BBC In Concert special for Bob Harris gets it's first official airing on CD, as does the rare Sounds On Sunday radio broadcast, their very last recording together before the break-up.