Brinsley Schwarz - Thinking Back: The Anthology 1970-1975 (Box) (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Brinsley Schwarz - Thinking Back: The Anthology 1970-1975 (Box) (Uk)
Thinking Back: The Anthology 1970-1975 (Box) (Uk)
Artist: Brinsley Schwarz
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 11/24/2023
UPC: 5013929785007

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Hymn to Me
2. Shining Brightly
3. Rock and Roll Women
4. Lady Constant
5. What Do You Suggest
6. Mayfly
7. Ballad of a Has Been Beauty Queen
8. Bonus Tracks
9. Thinking Home (Previously Unreleased)
10. Girl in Spanish Lace (Previously Unreleased)
11. Thinking Back (Previously Unreleased)
12. Seymour (I Love You)
13. Funk Angel (Alternate Version)
14. Crime of Passion
15. Murder on My Mind
16. Motorway Madness
17. Rock and Roll Station
18. Country Girl
19. The Slow One
20. Funk Angel
21. Piece of Home
22. Love Song
23. Starship
24. Ebury Down
25. Old Jarrow
26. Intro (Live, London, 1972)
27. Country Girl (Live, London, 1972)
28. She's Got to Be Real (Live, London, 1972)
29. Home Work (Live, London, 1972)
30. Going Down the Road (Live, London, 1972)
31. Midnight Train (Live, London, 1972)
32. Private Number (Live, London, 1972)
33. Dry Land
34. Merry Go Round
35. One More Day
36. Nightingale
37. Silver Pistol
38. The Last Time I Was Fooled
39. Unknown Number
40. Range War
41. Egypt
42. Niki Hoeke Speedway
43. Ju Ju Man
44. Rockin' Chair
45. The Old Country
46. That's What It Takes
47. Strange Feeling
48. One More Day (Live, London, 1972)
49. Unknown Number (Live, London, 1972)
50. Range War (Live, London, 1972)
51. Silver Pistol (Live, London, 1972)
52. It's Been So Long
53. Happy Doing What We're Doing
54. Surrender to the Rhythm
55. Don't Lose Your Grip on Love
56. Nervous on the Road (But Can't Stay at Home)
57. Feel a Little Funky
58. I Like It Like That
59. Brand New You
60. Home in My Hand
61. Why, Why, Why, Why, Why Bonus Tracks
62. What Would You Do (Live, Amsterdam, 1972)
63. Nervous on the Road (But Can't Stay at Home) (Live, London, 1972)
64. It's Just My Way of Saying Thank You (Live, London, 1972)
65. Wonder Woman (Live, London, 1972)
66. I'm Ahead If I Can Quit While I'm Behind (Live, London, 1972)
67. Surrender to the Rhythm (Live, London, 1972)
68. Home in My Hand (Live, Paris, 1973)
69. Hooked on Love
70. Why Do We Hurt the One We Love?
71. I Worry ('Bout You Baby)
72. Don't Ever Change
73. Home in My Hand
74. Play That Fast Thing (One More Time)
75. I Won't Make It Without You
76. Down in Mexico
77. Speedoo
78. The Version (Hypocrite)
79. Hypocrite (As the Hitters)
80. I Should Have Known Better (As Limelight) 13 Tell Me Why (As Limelight)
81. Run Rudolph Run (Live, Newcastle, 1973)
82. It's Been So Long (Live, Cardiff, 1974)
83. Happy Doing What We're Doing (Live, Cardiff, 1974) 17 You're So Fine (Live, Cardiff, 1974)
84. Hip City (Live, Cardiff, 1974)
85. Trying to Live My Life Without You (Live, Cardiff, 1974)
86. Small Town Big City (Live, Cardiff, 1974)
87. Honky Tonk (Live, Cardiff, 1974)
88. Ju Ju Man (Live, Cardiff, 1974)
89. (What's So Funny 'Bout) Peace, Love and Understanding
90. Ever Since You're Gone
91. The Ugly Things
92. I Got the Real Thing
93. The Look That's in Your Eye Tonight
94. Now's the Time
95. Small Town Big City
96. Trying to Live My Life Without You
97. I Like You, I Don't Love You
98. Down in the Dive
99. Bonus Tracks
100. Cried My Last Tear
101. (It's Gonna Be a) Bringdown
102. I'll Be Doggone (Live, Tilburg, 1974)
103. Love Is Gone (Live, Tilburg, 1974)
104. Don't Lie to Me (Live, Tilburg, 1974)
105. Save the Last Dance for Me (Live, Tilburg, 1974) 17 I Ain't Never (Live, Sheffield, 1974)
106. Hey Bartender (Live, Sheffield, 1974)
107. Brown Sugar (Live, Sheffield, 1974)
108. Hooked on Love (Live, Cardiff, 1974)
109. (What's So Funny 'Bout) Peace Love and Understanding (Live, Cardiff, 1974)
110. We Can Mess Around
111. Cruel to Be Kind
112. As Lovers Do
113. I'll Take Good Care of You
114. Hey Baby (They're Playing Our Song)
115. Do the Cod (The Thirty Pounder)
116. God Bless (Whoever Made You)
117. Everybody
118. Private Number
119. Give Me Back My Love
120. It's All Over
121. There's a Cloud in My Heart (As the Brinsleys) 13 You've Been
122. Cheatin' (Live, Groningen, 1975)
123. You Ain't Living Until You're Lovin' (Live, Groningen, 1975)
124. Walking the Dog (Live, Groningen, 1975)
125. Snatch It Back and Hold It (Live, Groningen, 1975)
126. Play That Fast Thing (One More Time) (Live, Groningen, 1975)
127. We Can Mess Around
128. (Live, Groningen, 1975)
129. I Have Cried My Last Tear (Live, Groningen, 1975)
130. Cruel to Be Kind (Live, Groningen, 1975)
131. Please Don't Ever Change
132. (Live, Koln, 1975)
133. Don't Lose Your Grip on Love (Live, Koln, 1975)

More Info:

Comprehensive 7CD clamshell box set that contains all of the original six albums as well as the 'It's All Over Now' album that was recorded in 1975 but not released until 1988. Also included are unreleased tracks from the Warner vaults as well as live recordings and rarities from band member Ian Gomm who is also providing a mass of rare/unseen images from his archive as well as contributing to the sleeve notes. CD1 features the band's eponymous debut album as well as three previously unreleased tracks from the Warner vaults and rare studio recordings from Ian Gomm's archive. CD 2 features the band's sophomore album 'Despite It All' that is accompanied by live tracks recorded at The Roundhouse in London in 1972. CD 3 features the band's third album 'Silver Pistol' and also has three rare tracks that were recorded for the album but didn't make the final cut, there is also more live recordings from The Roundhouse in 1972. CD 4 features the band's fourth album 'Nervous On The Road' and also has live recordings from Amsterdam in 1972, Paris in 1973 and more from The Roundhouse in 1972. CD 5 features the band's fifth album 'Please Don't Ever Change' as well as singles recorded as The Hitters and Limelight, along with live recordings from Newcastle in 1973 and Cardiff in 1974. CD 6 features the band's final official album 'The New Favourites Of Brinsley Schwarz' which includes one of Nick Lowe's most famous songs '(What's So Funny 'Bout) Peace, Love And Understanding', with bonus live tracks from gigs in Sheffield, Tilburg and Cardiff, all in 1974. CD 7 features the album 'It's All Over Now', recorded in 1975 but not released until 1988. Bonus material includes the band's last ever single, billed as The Brinsleys as well as live recordings from Groningen in 1975 as well as Koln in March 1975, recorded just nine days before the band broke up.