REO Speedwagon - The Early Years 1971-1977 [Import] | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top

RecordStore Day

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Gypsy Woman's Passion
2. 157 Riverside Avenue
3. Anti-Establishment Man
4. Lay Me Down
5. Sophisticated Lady
6. Five Men Were Killed Today
7. Prison Women
8. Dead at Last
9. 157 Riverside Avenue (Mono Single)
10. Lay Me Down (Mono Single)
11. Sophisticated Lady (Mono Single)


1. Let Me Ride
2. How the Story Goes
3. Little Queenie
4. Being Kind (Can Hurt Someone Sometimes)
5. Music Man
6. Like You Do
7. Flash Tan Queen
8. Golden Country
9. Little Queenie (Mono Single)


1. Ridin' the Storm Out
2. Whiskey Night
3. Oh Woman
4. Find My Fortune
5. Open Up
6. Movin'
7. Son of a Poor Man
8. Start a New Life
9. It's Everywhere
10. Without Expression (Don't Be the Man)
11. Ridin' the Storm Out (Mono Single)
12. Open Up (Mono Single)
13. Ridin' the Storm Out Feat. Kevin Cronin
14. Son of a Poor Man Feat. Kevin Cronin


1. Give Me a Ride (Roller Coaster)
2. Throw the Chains Away
3. Sky Blues
4. You Can Fly
5. Lost in a Dream
6. Down By the Dam
7. Do Your Best
8. Wild As the Western Wind
9. They're on the Road
10. I'm Feeling Good
11. Throw the Chains Away (Mono Single)


1. Reelin'
2. Headed for a Fall
3. River of Life
4. Out of Control
5. You Better Realize
6. Gambler
7. Candalera
8. Lies
9. Dance
10. Dream Weaver
11. Reelin' (Mono Single)
12. Out of Control (Mono Single)


1. Keep Pushin'
2. Any Kind of Love
3. (Only a) Summer Love
4. (I Believe) Our Time Is Gonna Come
5. Breakaway
6. Flying Turkey Trot
7. Tonight
8. Lightning
9. Keep Pushin' (Mono Single)
10. Keep Pushin' (Live)


1. Like You Do
2. Lay Me Down
3. Any Kind of Love
4. Being Kind (Can Hurt Someone Sometimes)
5. Keep Pushin'
6. (Only a) Summer Love
7. Son of a Poor Man
8. (I Believe) Our Time Is Gonna Come


1. Flying Turkey Trot
2. Gary's Guitar Solo
3. 157 Riverside Ave
4. Ridin' the Storm Out
5. Music Man
6. Little Queenie
7. Golden Country

More Info:

UK eight CD set. Although best known for the AOR and radio hits from the early 1980s, REO Speedwagon's long history goes way back to their formation in Champaign, Illinois in 1967. By the time they came to record their debut LP for Epic Records in 1971, the line-up had settled around Terry Luttrell on lead vocals, driving force Gary Richrath on guitar and Gregg Philbin on bass, joining Neal Doughty and Alan Gratzer. Although guitarist Gary Richrath has long been an important and influential figure in the songwriting and musical direction of the band, by the release of second LP, REO/TWO, the band were joined by Kevin Cronin on lead vocals. His tenure with REO was cut short when he was replaced on lead vocals by Mike Murphy for 1973's Ridin' The Storm Out, 1974's Lost In A Dream and 1975's This Time We Mean It, the latter co-produced by future Eagles producer, Bill Szymczyk. By 1976's REO, Kevin Cronin had returned to the fold, making a significant contribution to the songwriting alongside Gary Richrath. Produced by John Stronach, REO would also be the last studio LP to feature Gregg Philbin on bass, who'd be replaced by Bruce Hall following 1977's double concert album Live (You Get What You Play For). As well as extensive liner notes from Malcolm Dome, this expansive set features a wealth of bonus tracks.