Almighty - Welcome To Defiance: Complete Recordings 1994-2001 | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top

RecordStore Day

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Welcome To Defiance: Complete Recordings 1994-2001
Artist: Almighty
Format: CD


Label: HNEE
Rel. Date: 04/02/2021
UPC: 5013929924604

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Ultraviolent
2. Wrench
3. The Unreal Thing
4. Jonestown Mind
5. Move Right in
6. Crank and Deceit
7. United State of Apathy
8. Welcome to Defiance
9. Way Beyond Belief
10. Crackdown
11. Sorry for Nothing
12. Cheat
13. Shitzophrenic
14. Ongoing and Total
15. Do You Understand
16. All Sussed Out
17. How Real Is Real for You
18. Dead Happy
19. Some Kind of Anything
20. Coalition Star
21. 8 Day Depression
22. Look What Happened Tomorrow
23. 360
24. Feed the Need
25. Afraid of Flying
26. Independent Deterrent
27. Broken Machine
28. I'm in Love (With Revenge)
29. La Chispa de la Muerte
30. Big Black Automatic
31. For Fuck's Sake
32. Poison Eyes
33. White Anger Comedown
34. TNT
35. Stop
36. Usak-47
37. Alright
38. Barfly
39. Fat Chance
40. Misery Guts
41. Galvanize
42. 427 Freak Horsepower
43. Ruse
44. Soul on a Roll
45. Begging
46. Hate the World
47. Waiting for Earthquakes
48. If I Knew What I Wanted
49. 7 X
50. Big Idea Idiot
51. Mondo Balordo
52. Blowout Kit for the Underdog
53. Witness Relocation Programme
54. Million Times Nothing
55. Jonestown Mind
56. Crank and Deceit
57. Addiction
58. Move Right in
59. The Unreal Thing
60. Takin' Hold
61. Sorry for Nothing
62. Wrench
63. 360
64. Way Beyond Belief
65. United State of Apathy
66. Over the Edge
67. Wild and Wonderful
68. Cheat
69. Welcome to Defiance
70. Ultraviolent
71. Crucify
72. Jonestown Mind (Therapy?Remix)
73. Jonestown Mind (Ruts Remix)
74. Thanks Again, Again
75. Knocking on Joe
76. State of Emergency
77. Hellelujah
78. Do Anything You Wanna Do
79. Give Me Fire
80. Superpower
81. DSS (Desperately Seeking Something)
82. Tense Nervous Headshake
83. Canned Jesus
84. Wrench
85. Move Right in
86. Addiction
87. Welcome to Defiance
88. Sorry for Nothing
89. The Unreal Thing
90. United State of Apathy
91. Crank ; Deceit
92. Do You Understand
93. Jesus Loves You
94. I Fought the Law

More Info:

Scottish school friends Stump Monroe (drums), Floyd London (bass) and Ricky Warwick (guitar, vocals) formed The Almighty with guitarist Tantrum in 1988. After recording three LPs of hard-hitting rock and metal for Polydor Records between 1989 and 1993, The Almighty signed to Chrysalis Records in 1994. Shifting to a sound more informed by the punk that had initially inspired them, their punk rock credentials were further brought to the fore on "Crank" (1994) by the Jamie Reid cover design, famed for his iconic and highly influential Sex Pistols artwork. Featuring the singles 'Wrench' and 'Jonestown Mind', "Crank" reached No. 15 in the UK charts. Recording a second record for Chrysalis, "Just Add Life" (1996) was eventually released by UK independent label Castle. Featuring the singles 'All Sussed Out' and 'Do You Understand', "Just Add Life" is also notable for it's artwork by design legend and album cover guru, the late Storm Thorgerson. Following "Just Add Life", The Almighty decided to call it a day, with singer Ricky Warwick perusing a solo career. Reforming in 2000 around a line-up of Ricky, Stump and Floyd, they were joined by guitarist Nick Parsons. By 2000, Castle Music had morphed in Sanctuary Records, who released the self-titled "The Almighty" (2000) swiftly followed by "Psycho-Narco" (2001), by which time Gav Gray had joined them on bass. Whilst on tour in Japan supporting the release of "Crank", the band recorded the live album "Crank and Deceit: Live in Japan", recorded at Osaka's IMP Hall on 16th July 1995, captured here on CD5. It features Almighty classics 'Wild And Wonderful', 'Addiction' and 'Crucify', as well as newer cuts such as 'Ultraviolent' and 'United State Of Apathy'. The Almighty aren't just an albums band, having released plenty of singles across their career, many with exclusive bonus tracks. Collected together on CD 6 are Ruts and Therapy? remixes of 'Jonestown Mind', as well as non-album cuts, 'DSS (Desperately Seeking Something)' and 'Tense Nervous Headshake'. Also included on disc six are tracks from some of their heroes and influences, including covers of Eddie & The Hot Rods' 'Do Anything You Wanna Do' and Charged G. B. H. 's 'Give Me Fire'. The seventh and final disc is based around a number of live recordings, including a show recorded on 3rd October 1994 at Stuttgart's Kongret Zentrum whilst touring to support "Crank". Many tracks had appeared as B-Sides, but have been collected together here for the first time. The band effectively split up following "Psycho-Narco" in 2002, but reformed their classic line-up of Ricky, Stump, Floyd and Pete Friesen in 2006 for well received live gigs, playing their final show in 2009. As well continuing his solo career, Ricky Warwick was invited to join Thin Lizzy in 2009, with a line-up that formed the basis for Black Star Riders, who have subsequently released four very successful studio albums.