Montrose - I Got The Fire: Complete Recordings 1973-76 (Box) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

I Got The Fire: Complete Recordings 1973-76 (Box)
Artist: Montrose
Format: CD


Label: HNE
Rel. Date: 07/29/2022
UPC: 5013929926226

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Rock the Nation
2. Bad Motor Scooter
3. Space Station #5
4. I Don't Want It
5. Good Rockin' Tonight
6. Rock Candy
7. One Thing on My Mind
8. Make It Last
9. Rock the Nation (Mono)
10. Rock the Nation (Stereo)
11. Space Station #5 (Mono Edit)
12. Space Station #5 (Stereo Edit)
13. One Thing on My Mind (Demo)
14. Shoot Us Down (Demo)
15. Rock Candy (Demo)
16. Good Rockin' Tonight (Demo)
17. I Don't Want It (Demo)
18. Make It Last (Demo)
19. Intro
20. Good Rockin' Tonight
21. Rock Candy
22. Bad Motor Scooter
23. Shoot Us Down
24. One Thing on My Mind
25. Rock the Nation
26. Make It Last
27. You're Out of Time
28. Roll Over Beethoven
29. I Don't Want It
30. Underground
31. Connection
32. The Dreamer
33. Starliner
34. I Got the Fire
35. Spaceage Sacrifice
36. We're Going Home
37. Paper Money
38. Paper Money (Stereo Edit)
39. Paper Money (Mono Edit)
40. Connection (Mono Edit)
41. Intro
42. I Got the Fire
43. Rock Candy
44. Bad Motor Scooter
45. Spaceage Sacrifice
46. One and a Half
47. Roll Over Beethoven
48. Trouble
49. Space Station #5
50. Matriarch
51. All I Need
52. Twenty Flight Rock
53. Whaler
54. Dancin' Feet
55. O Lucky Man
56. One and a Half
57. Clown Woman
58. Black Train
59. Matriarch (Mono Edit)
60. Let's Go
61. What Are You Waiting For?
62. Tuft-Sedge
63. Music Man
64. Jump on It
65. Rich Man
66. Crazy for You
67. Merry Go-Round
68. Music Man (Stereo Edit)
69. Music Man (Mono Edit)
70. Let's Go (Stereo Edit)
71. Let's Go (Mono Edit)

More Info:

Comprehensive collection of early 70s Classic Rock outfit Montrose. Featuring their four Warner Brothers' albums plus bonus tracks, demos and two live radio sessions. The original four-piece Montrose formed in California in 1973 around lead guitarist Ronnie Montrose and singer Sammy Hagar, in a line-up completed by Bill Church on bass and Denny Carmassi on drums. In a relatively short but highly productive period of time Montrose released a handful of groundbreaking and highly influential albums, inspiring everybody from Van Halen to Iron Maiden, who covered Montrose's 'I Got The Fire' not once but twice. Forming after Ronnie Montrose left the Edgar Winter Group, their self-titled debut was recorded with famed producer Ted Templeman (Doobie Bros, Van Halen, Aerosmith, Eric Clapton). Signing to Warner Brothers Records, the self-titled 'Montrose' was a hard rock master class. The second CD in this set kicks off with six demo tracks, as well as their debut performance, recorded for KSAN radio at the Record Plant in Sausalito, California on 21st April 1973. Their second album, 1974's 'Paper Money', was again produced by Ted Templeman. This time Alan Fitzgerald had replaced Bill Church on bass. 'Paper Money' capitalized on their hard rocking debut; the bonus tracks are stereo and mono single edits of the title track, 'Paper Money', plus a mono edit for 'Connection'. The fourth CD finds Montrose back at the Record Plant recording another session for KSAN radio while promoting the 'Paper Money' album. As well as classics 'Rock Candy' and 'Bad Motor Scooter', the band dusts off some rock 'n' roll classics with 'Roll Over Beethoven' and 'Trouble'. Sammy Hagar and Montrose parted ways in early 1975, when the singer was replaced by Bob James. The other major change for third album 'Warner Bros. Presents Montrose!' was Ronnie Montrose taking over production duties. A year later 'Jump On It', produced by Jack Douglas (Aerosmith, John Lennon, Cheap Trick), was Montrose (the band's) fourth and final album (until 'Mean' in 1987). With Jim Alcivar on keyboards providing much of the bottom end, unusually only three tracks feature an actual bassist. The bonus tracks are mono and stereo single edits for 'Music Man' and 'Let's Go'.