Ken Hensley - Past & Present (Songs In Time) 1972-2021 (Box) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Past & Present (Songs In Time) 1972-2021 (Box)
Artist: Ken Hensley
Format: CD


Label: HNE
Rel. Date: 03/03/2023
UPC: 5013929928220

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. When Evening Comes
2. Black Hearted Lady
3. From Time To Time
4. Rain
5. Secret
6. Take ; Take
7. The House On The Hill
8. When
9. Inside The Mystery
10. New York
11. Brown Eyed Boy
12. Woman
13. Tales
14. Echoes In The Dark
15. Sunrise
16. Paradise
17. Poet's Justice
18. Rainbow Demon
19. It's Up To You
20. Moving In
21. One Tender Moment
22. Guard Your Heart
23. Shakey Ground
24. Think Twice
25. Get A Line
26. Believe In Me
27. Win Or Lose
28. The Cost Of Loving
29. The Return
30. The Joy Of Knowing Jesus
31. Overture - La Tristeza Secreta De Un Corazon Gitano
32. Prelude - A Minor Life
33. Out Of My Control
34. You've Got It - The American Dream
35. Final Solution
36. It's Up To You
37. Finney's Tale
38. I Close My Eyes
39. Little Piece Of Me - Julia's Song
40. Free Spirit
41. Movin' In
42. Let Me Be Me
43. I Don't Wanna Wait
44. Tell Me
45. Crying
46. Letting Go
47. Give Me A Reason
48. Second Chance (A New Beginning)
49. I Know Who You Are
50. The Voice Of Love
51. Give 'Em What They Want
52. Who Knows
53. Dancing
54. Did You Know
55. The Last Dance (El Gitano Viejo)
56. Faster
57. Somewhere (In Paradise)
58. Look At Yourself
59. Stealin'
60. The Curse
61. I Cry Alone
62. July Morning
63. Circle Of Hands
64. Blood On The Highway
65. Right Here Right Now
66. The Cold Sacrifice

More Info:

6CD book set celebrating the late, great Ken Hensley. 'Solo' (CD1) focuses on gems from his first three solo albums, released by Bronze records between 1973 and 1981. Having made his way through the fertile music scene of the 1960s, Ken came to prominence when he joined Uriah Heep in 1970. Creating ground-breaking, melodic hard rock with Heep, CD1 concludes with 'Tales', 'Echoes In The Dark' and 'Sunrise' from 'The Magician's Birthday' (1972), then 'Paradise', 'Poet's Justice', and 'Rainbow Demon' from 'Demons And Wizards' (1972). 'A Glimpse of Glory' (CD2) from 1990 explores Ken's songwriting depth and his examination of faith, best demonstrated on the songs 'The Return' and 'The Joy Of Knowing Jesus'. According to Ken's liner notes for 2002's 'Running Blind' (CD3), "I suppose this CD is really typical of the way I like to record, with a mixture of songs of different styles. Most of the time I consider myself a storyteller and the tempo, rhythm and production should combine to accompany the lyrical message. "'Running Blind' was followed in 2003 with 'The Last Dance' (CD4). Produced by Ken and Daniel Saiz Gomez, it featured Tommy Lopez (drums), John Smithson (bass) and Ovidio Lopez (guitar) with some classic slide guitar from Ken on 'Crying'. Always a prolific songwriter, on 2005's 'Cold Autumn Sunday' (CD5) Ken took time to record a number of songs from his back catalogue, revisiting 'Send Me An Angel', originally recorded with southern rockers Blackfoot in 1983, 'Inside The Mystery', originally on 'Free Spirit', and the title track originally released on Ken's 1973 solo debut, 'Proud Words On A Dusty Shelf'. This anthology concludes with 'Collaborations (2011-2021)' on CD6, a new compilation featuring his work on two studio albums and one live album with Live Fire; 'Faster', 'Trouble' and 'Live Fire Live!!' featuring the amazing guitar playing of Ken Ingwersen that Ken loved so much. CD6 ends with two tracks from his final album, 'My Book of Answers', showcasing his writing with Vladimir Emelin. The music world not only lost a great, multi-talented musician and mercurial artist, but also a highly respected songwriter when Ken Hensley very sadly passed away in November 2020.