Jb's - Food For Thought / Doing It To Death / Damn Right I Am Somebody | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top

RecordStore Day

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Food For Thought / Doing It To Death / Damn Right I Am Somebody
Artist: Jb's
Format: CD


Label: RBSG
Rel. Date: 03/19/2021
UPC: 5013929954724

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Pass The Peas
2. Gimme Some More
3. To My Brother
4. Wine Spot
5. Hot Pants Road
6. The Grunt
7. Blessed Blackness
8. Escape-Ism Part 1
9. Escape-Ism Part 2
10. Theme From King Heroin
11. These Are The J.B.'S
12. Intro To The Jb's
13. Doin It To Death Part 1 ; 2
14. You Can Have Your Watergate,
15. Just Give Me Some Buck
16. More Peas
17. La Di Da La Di Day
18. You Can Have Your Watergate
19. Just Give Me Some Buck
20. Sucker
21. You Can Have Your Watergate,
22. Just Give Me Some Buck
23. Damn Right I'm Somebody
24. Blow Your Head
25. I'm Payin' Taxes, What Am I Buyin'?
26. Same Beat (Part 1)
27. If You Don't Get It The First Time,
28. Back Up ; Try It Again, Parrty
29. Make Me What You Want Me To Be
30. Going To Get A Thrill
31. You Sure Love To Ball

More Info:

Ladies and Gentlemen, there are seven acknowledged wonders of the world, you are about to witness the eighth. Standing in the spotlight, on showcase, twelve young men, who have given you such tunes as 'The Grunt', 'Pass The Peas', and 'Gimme Some More'. Without any doubt, these are the J. B. 's! That lyric says it all! Robinsongs has great pleasure to bring you what must have been the World's funkiest Band, and the Godfather Of Soul the legendary James Brown's backing band The J. B. 's albums "Food For Thought", "Doing It To Death" & "Damn Right I Am Somebody" in one double CD package. Featuring some of the classic Funk Anthems such as 'Gimme Some More', 'Pass The Peas', 'Hot Pants Road' and the Number 1 R&B single 'Doing It To Death'. These albums were produced by James Brown, and although there are a few instrumentals like the mesmerising 'Theme From King Heroin', James Brown's vocals are prominent and tracks such as 'Escape-ism' and 'More Peas' make you feel like you are also listening to a classic James Brown album. But James is not the only well-known player on these albums, they also feature Fred Wesley, Maceo Parker, William (Bootsy) Collins, Bobby Byrd and the backbeat supreme Clyde (The Funky Drummer) Stubblefield are all out front as well as many other famous J. B. 's. The "Damn Right I Am Somebody" album gave Fred Wesley lead billing as Band leader and the album was recorded during the same session as James Brown "The Payback" album, and you can tell as the album has a similar vibe. As the original album cover stated Think That You Are Somebody And You'll Be Somebody - Positive Thinking.