Joe Sample - Rainbow Seeker / Carmel / Voices In The Rain (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top


Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Rainbow Seeker / Carmel / Voices In The Rain (Uk)
Artist: Joe Sample
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 08/13/2021
UPC: 5013929955226

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Rainbow Seeker
2. In All My Wildest Dreams
3. There Are Many Stops Along the Way
4. Melodies of Love
5. Fly with Wings of Love
6. As Long As It Lasts
7. Islands in the Rain
8. Together We'll Find a Way
9. Carmel
10. Carmel
11. Paintings
12. Cannery Row
13. A Rainy Day in Monterey
14. Sunrise
15. Midnight and Mist
16. Voices in the Rain
17. Burnin' Up the Carnival
18. Greener Grass
19. Eye of the Hurricane
20. Dream of Dreams
21. Shadows
22. Sonata in Solitude
23. Melodies of Love (7" Version)
24. Burnin' Up the Carnival (7" Version)
25. Dream of Dreams (7" Edit)

More Info:

At 15 Joe Sample had become an accomplished jazz pianist and started making a name for himself alongside school classmates and future Crusaders Wilton Felder, Wayne Henderson and Nesbert "Stix" Hooper. As The Jazz Crusaders they released their first album back in 1962 before shortening their name. Sample recorded his debut solo LP 'Rainbow Seeker' in 1978. The stand out tracks were the title track and the pulsating Latin Groove of 'There Are Many Stops Along The Way' which also features Ray Parker Jr on guitar. 'Carmel' was released later that same year and featured a more relaxed sound. The final album in this trilogy, 'Voices In The Rain' features 'Burnin' Up The Carnival' arguably Sample's best known solo track, with vocals by Josie James, Flora Purim and Pauline Wilson. The package also features three seven-inch single versions of 'Melodies Of Love', 'Burnin' Up The Carnival' and 'Dream Of Dreams' with sleeve notes by Charles Waring of MOJO & Record Collector.