Jimmy Castor Bunch - Definitive Collection | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Definitive Collection
Artist: Jimmy Castor Bunch
Format: CD


Label: Robinsongs
Rel. Date: 11/11/2022
UPC: 5013929955929

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Hey Leroy, Your Mama's Callin' You
2. Southern Fried Frijoles
3. Creation (Prologue)
4. It's Just Begun
5. Troglodyte (Cave Man)
6. You Better Be Good (Or the Devil Gon' Getcha)
7. Psyche
8. L.T.D. (Life, Truth, ; Death)
9. Creation (Epilogue)
10. Say Leroy (The Creature from the Black Lagoon Is Your Father)
11. Luther the Anthropoid (Ape Man)
12. First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
13. Tribute to Jimi
14. Paradise
15. I'm Not a Child Anymore
16. Soul Serenade (Remastered 2002)
17. Bertha Butt Boogie
18. E-Man Boogie
19. Let's Party Now
20. Daniel
21. Potential
22. Hallucinations
23. One Precious Word
24. Love Train
25. The Everything Man
26. Maggie
27. Supersound
28. King Kong
29. Bom Bom
30. A Groove Will Make You Move
31. Super Love
32. E-Man Groovin'
33. Dracula, Pt. I
34. I Love a Mellow Groove
35. Everything Is Beautiful to Me
36. Space Age (12" Disco Version)
37. E-Man Par-Tay
38. Maximum Stimulation
39. The Return of Leroy, Pt. 1
40. Mind Power
41. TR-7
42. Don't Do That!
43. Party People
44. I Just Wanna Stop
45. Need Your Lovin'

More Info:

Unique 3CD compilation of The Jimmy Castor Bunch. Featuring all of Jimmy Castor's RnB chart hits. This package is jammed packed full of Funk. With sleeve notes by MOJO and Record Collector journalist Charles Waring. Despite unashamedly injecting an infectious sense of fun and irreverence in his take on funk - as evidenced on early 70s hits 'Troglodyte (Cave Man)' and 'Bertha Butt Boogie' - Jimmy Castor was a serious musician who more than lived up to his nickname, "The Everything Man". He could sing as well as play the saxophone, piano, vibraphone, and assorted percussion instruments, and if that wasn't enough, he was also an accomplished bandleader, arranger and producer. This package features the Top Ten Pop and RnB Hit and probably The Jimmy Castor Bunch's most notable song 'Troglodyte (Cave Man)', an amusing story of a stone age man narrated by Castor over a searing funk groove, it was certainly a stylistic anomaly compared with the rest of the album. The track began with Castor saying, "What we're going to do right here is go back - way back, back into time," a famous intro that has been much-sampled by rap acts in the hip-hop age. The record was certified Gold. Other notable tracks on the package, and there are a few, are 'The Bertha Butt Boogie', 'Potential', 'King Kong', 'Supersound', 'Bom Bom' and 'Space Age' 12" Disco Mix. Jimmy also liked to cover the hits of the day and set also includes Elton John's 'Daniel', Roberta Flack's 'First Time Ever I Saw Your Face' and The O'Jays' 'Love Train' plus Jimmy's tribute to Jimi Hendrix. He Jimmy Castor Bunch's music has been sampled approximately 296 times, the most popular of Castor's tracks in terms of being sampled is 'It's Just Begun', which has been plundered 145 times, by everyone from Grandmaster Flash And The Furious Five and M/A/ R/R/S in the 80s to The Spice Girls in the 90s and Pharrell Williams in the 2000s.