Johnny Hammond - Gambler's Life [Import] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Gambler's Life (5:45)
2. Rhodesian Thoroughfare (6:06)
3. This Year's Dream (6:19)
4. Star Borne (7:51)
5. Back To The Projects (5:36)
6. Yesterday Was Cool (6:50)
7. Virgo Lady (6:41)
8. Call On Me (4:30)
9. Rock Steady (6:55)
10. Who Is Sylvia (7:27)
11. Higher Ground (8:31)
12. Breakout (4:45)

More Info:

This amazing album from 1974 was the natural predecessor to Johnny Hammond's classic "Gears" recorded with the Mizell brothers the following year. It contains the rare groove/Jazz Funk anthems "Star Borne" and "Yesterday Was Cool". "Gambler's Life" was the album where Hammond switched from his customary organ to electric piano at a time the Mizell brothers had just produced Donald Byrd and Bobbi Humphrey for Blue Note. They had become noted for their "multi-layered funky sound". As much as Hammond shines on electric piano, this album is a true band effort, an all-star jam session of sorts, thanks to the presence of ace musicians such as George Benson, Eric Gale, Melvin Sparks, Ron Carter, Harvey Mason, Billy Cobham, Steve Gadd, Airto Moreira, Ralph MacDonald, Grover Washington, and of course the Mizell brothers themselves. In addition to the 8 tracks that were on the original "Gambler's Life" album, this CD reissue includes 4 bonus tracks, all of which originally appeared on other Kudu/CTI studio albums in 1971 and 1974, and on those 4 tracks you get to hear Hammond's trademark organ. Title track "Gambler's Life" was also sampled by Erykah Badu.