These Memories: Rare Soul Gems / Various - These Memories: Rare Soul Gems / Various (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Corey Blake - How Can I Go On Without You
2. Freddie Terrell ; The Blue Rhythm Band - You Had It Made
3. Barrett Strong - Man Up In The Sky
4. Billy Harner - I Got It From Heaven
5. Sydney Joe Qualls - I Don't Do This (To Every Girl I Meet)
6. Crystal Motion - You're My Main Squeeze (Part 1)
7. Reuben Howell - Can't Stop A Man In Love
8. Almeta Lattimore - These Memories
9. Daybreak - I Need Love
10. Eddie Owen - Shake Off That Dream
11. Love Committee - Tired Of Being Your Fool
12. Sonya Spence - Let Love Flow On
13. Brenda Holloway - My Baby Moves Me

More Info:

Memories of the rare soul scene are manifold but this timeless collection goes right to the heart and soul of the scene and is perhaps best summed up by the emotive title track "These Memories" by Almeta Lattimore. You really don't need any other reason to buy this album, but how about Corey Blake's £1,000+ collector's-piece "How Can I Go On Without You", which has evaded compilation for over twenty years. Equally rare is Billy Harner's "I Got It From Heaven", recorded and produced in 1976 by 'Sound Gems' label boss Frank Fioravanti. It was discovered, soon after release, by Richard Searling and covered-up as Bobby Hutton for exclusive plays on his Saturday/Sunday DJ sets at Wigan Casino. 'Sound Gems' also provides us with another dance floor anthem: "You're My Main Squeeze" by Crystal Motion. Side One ends with another Richard Searling cover-up courtesy of Motown's country & western-tinged "Can't Stop A Man In Love" by Reuben Howell (aka Sandy Linzer). Appropritely, Richard selected this very track to end his last ever All-Nighter DJ set at the Kings Hall, Stoke-on-Trent, Sunday 22nd September 2019. What a record!Side Two is no slouch either, kicking off with our title track, followed by the first ever independent release of Daybreak's in-demand "I Need Love". Eddie Owen (aka Eddie Billups) delivers his 1977 reinvention of the anthemic "Shake Off That Dream" while Tom Moulton works his magic on Love Committee's "Tired Of Being Your Fool". We end with our second visit to Motown for the wonderful - unreleased - "My Baby Moves Me" by Brenda Holloway.