Various Artists - Soul On The Real Side Vol 12 / Various | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Soul On The Real Side Vol 12 / Various
Artist: Various Artists
Format: CD


Label: Outta Sight Import
Rel. Date: 09/10/2021
UPC: 5013993999454

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Daybreak - I Need Love
2. Roscoe Thomas - American Girl
3. The Words of Wisdom - You're a Friend of Mine (Vocal)
4. Spice Feat. Bunny Davis - Sweet Norma Jones
5. The Relatives - This World Is Moving Too Fast
6. (Goodbye World Re-Invention) (Vocals Reverend Gean West)
7. The Falcons - You've Got the Power
8. Almeta Lattimore - These Memories
9. Ruby Winters - If This Is Our Last Time
10. Gloria Walker - Gift of Love
11. Jimmy Norman - I Wanna Make Love to You
12. Billy Harner - I Got It from Heaven
13. Crystal Motion - You're My Main Squeeze (Part 1)
14. Timeless Legend - I Was Born to Love You
15. Leo McCarty - I Fell in Love with Love
16. Sugar Billy - Super Duper Love (Part 1)
17. Vivilore Jordan - Put My Loving on You
18. Sarah Vaughan - I Need You More (Than Ever Now)
19. McArthur - It's So Real
20. Ellerine Harding - I Ain't Got Much (But Whatever I Got It's Yours Baby)
21. Darryl Stewart - You Must Know Magic

More Info:

The architects of soul are back with a stunning new 20-track Summer 2021 collection and, incredibly, almost half are NEW-TO-CD! Our show opens with the first of our new-to-CD tracks, the seldom heard "I Need Love" by East Coast disco/funk band Daybreak. The sophisticated New Jersey 45 was originally played at Wigan Casino by Richard Searling shortly after release (covered up as "Search The World" and attributed to Tyrone Davis). It has since become one of the most cherished and in-demand of all Modern Soul records. Track 2 sees the debut reissue of an obscure Philadelphia disc, "American Girl", by Roscoe Thomas. Our sincere thanks go to label boss Frank Fioravanti, who provided this superb Latin-tinged crossover delight plus a further 5 Sound Gems. The rarest on the label is Billy Harner's 1976 "I Got It From Heaven" (trk. 11), another Wigan Casino exclusive for DJ Richard Searling. A special mention must go to Gean West's Relatives, who make a guest appearance (trk. 5) with their emotive re-invention of the 1976 release "This World Is Moving Too Fast". During recording Gean fell into a coma and passed away before the album was released, leaving us with this breathtaking and poignant legacy. Our thanks also go to all at Mainstream Records, who, once again, supply a handful of class Seventies sides, including Sugar Billy's original version of "Super Duper Love" (trk. 15), popularised by Joss Stone in more recent times, plus, of course, Almeta Lattimore's timeless classic (trk. 7).