Red House Painters - Red House Painters [Import] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Evil
2. Bubble
3. I Am a Rock
4. Helicopter
5. New Jersey
6. Uncle Joe
7. Blindfold
8. Star Spangled Banner

More Info:

UK reissue of this 1993 album. After the relatively concise song structures and expanded sonic palette of the Painters' previous album, Mark Kozelek and his band of un-merry men return to the extended song forms and minimalistic feel of the band's debut. As ever, tempos lurch along at an appropriately ominous pace, and Kozelek examines the dark side of his soul on "Evil" and "Helicopter". a new development that would soon become a trademark is the band's talent for deconstruction as they tackle both Simon & Garfunkel's alienation anthem "I Am a Rock" (a logical choice) and the "Star Spangled Banner" (!), effectively redefining each to suit their whim. The previous album's "New Jersey" is reprised here in a somewhat more aggressive form, and the Painters continue working the slow-build that is one of their most effective dynamic tools on the epic-length "Blindfold".