T. Rex - 1972 (Box) (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Metal Guru
2. Mystic Lady
3. Rock on
4. The Slider
5. Baby Boomerang
6. Spaceball Ricochet
7. Buick MacKane
8. Telegram Sam
9. Rabbit Fighter
10. Baby Strange
11. Ballrooms of Mars
12. Chariot Choogle
13. Main Man
14. Rosko's Intro [Emperor Rosko]
15. Cadilac
16. Jeepster
17. Baby Strange
18. Spaceball Ricochet
19. Girl
20. Cosmic Dancer
21. Telegram Sam
22. Hot Love
23. Get It on
24. 'One More Time?' [Emperor Rosko]
25. Summertime Blues
26. Baby Strange [Alternate Mix]
27. Hot Love [Alternate Mix]
28. Marc Bolan - Marc's Intro
29. T. Rex - Jeepster
30. T. Rex - Baby Strange
31. Marc Bolan - 'Electric Wind' [Poem]
32. Elton John, Ringo Starr ; T. Rex - Tutti Frutti
33. Elton John, Ringo Starr ; T. Rex - Children of the Revolution
34. Marc Bolan ; Ringo Starr - 'Look to the Left'
35. Marc Bolan - Spaceball Ricochet
36. Marc Bolan ; Ringo Starr - 'Some People Like to Rock'
37. T. Rex - Telegram Sam
38. Marc Bolan ; Ringo Starr - 'Some People Like to Roll'
39. Marc Bolan ; Mickey Finn - Cosmic Dancer
40. Geoffrey Bayldon - 'They've Come, Tis Said'
41. Marc Bolan ; String Quartet - Tea Party Medley: Jeepster / Hot Love / Get It on / the Slider
42. Geoffrey Bayldon - 'Union Hall'
43. T. Rex - Hot Love
44. T. Rex - Get It on
45. T. Rex - Chariot Choogle [Soundtrack Mix of Studio Recording]
46. Marc Bolan - Marc's Outro
47. Children of the Revolution [Strings Reprise]
48. Spaceball Ricochet
49. Jeepster
50. Cosmic Dancer
51. Main Man
52. Ballrooms of Mars
53. Mystic Lady
54. Girl
55. Baby Strange
56. Left Hand Luke
57. The Slider
58. Spaceball Ricochet
59. Metal Guru
60. The Slider
61. Mystic Lady
62. Rock on
63. Main Man
64. Children of the Revolution
65. Solid Gold Easy Action
66. Telegram Sam [Christmas Top of the Pops]*
67. Cadilac
68. Thunderwing
69. Lady
70. Children of the Revolution
71. Jitterbug Love
72. Sunken Rags
73. Solid Gold Easy Action
74. Xmas Riff - Born to Boogie
75. T. Rex Fan Club 1972 "Christmas Record" Flexi Disc

More Info:

Having risen to superstardom through 1971, 1972 saw Marc Bolan attain the heights of "T. Rexmania", or "T. Rextasy", as the press dubbed the frenzy that took over the UK's music scene. This box set celebrates that year. For the first time, it brings together the 1972 studio recordings, broadcasts and performances made by Bolan and his band, T. Rex, putting the listener into the shoes of a T. Rex fan that year: singles, albums, live concerts, radio broadcasts, a film soundtrack and more. Bolan started 1972 with a brand new single on his own brand new record label, The T. Rex Wax Co. "Telegram Sam" swiftly reached the number 1 spot in the charts, his third chart-topper in under 12 months. In March, T. Rex played two sell-out concerts at Wembley's Empire Pool, later featured in "Born To Boogie", a feature film directed by Ringo Starr that included guest performances from Elton John and Ringo. May saw the release of another number 1, "Metal Guru", followed in July by "The Slider", the classic album. The band also toured the US twice in 1972, Bolan taking the opportunity to perform solo acoustic sessions for local radio stations. And of course the band featured regularly on the BBC throughout the year, recording special sessions for Radio 1 and Top Of The Pops. T. Rex ended the year with the singles "Children Of The Revolution" and "Solid Gold Easy Action", and the T. Rex Fan Club 1972 "Christmas Record" Flexi Disc (included here in it's entirety). The booklet contains a specially-written 1600 word note by producer Tony Visconti, as well as a brand new 12, 000 word essay by acknowledged Bolan authority Mark Paytress (author of the definitive Bolan biography). Also featured are many previously unpublished photos taken by Keith Morris in the course of 1972. The box set contains: "The Slider" album; "Live At Wembley" The Matinee Show - plus two previously unreleased 1972 mixes from The Evening Show; "Born To Boogie" The Soundtrack Album - issued in full for the first time; Marc Bolan's US Radio Sessions; Rex on the BBC in 1972 - featuring rare version of 'Telegram Sam' from the Christmas Top Of The Pops; 1972 B-sides and the T. Rex Fan Club 1972 "Christmas Record" Flexi Disc; Illustrated 44 page perfect bound book including Essays by Tony Visconti and Mark Paytress.