Brit Funk Association - Ancestral Voices (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Let It Flow (5.21)
2. Pick Up The Pieces (3.39)
3. Take It in Stages (Write Those Pages) (3:58)
4. Angel Eyes (6:01)
5. Ancestral Voices (4:51)
6. Freedom' Dancin' (5:40)
7. Always There (5:30)
8. Driftin' (4:12)
9. Snowfall (7:05)
10. Elevation (3:48)

More Info:

This album clearly harks back to the influences that inspired the original Brit Funk bands. The Brit Funk Association have drawn heavily on the giants of the golden age of music that inspired the sounds of the original Light of the World, Beggar & Co and Hi Tension. There are clear musical references to bands like Kool & The Gang, The Blackbyrds and The Crusaders as well as two stellar versions of the classics in "Pick Up The Pieces" by The Average White Band and a magnificent rendition of the anthemic "Always There". The album also highlights the musical prowess of the band members with some excellent solos in the tradition of some of the finest contemporary musicians around. "Ancestral Voices" is an apt title as the band take also reflect on some of the fantastic music that has driven the genre of jazz funk and soul through the years, sterling brass, driving rhythms. These are on display along with one or two more introspective tracks such as the title track with it's tight vocal harmonies. "Ancestral Voices" clearly shows The Brit Funk Association at the top of their game, tracks from the album already going down a storm at their live shows.