Rockie Robbins - Rockie Robins / You & Me (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Rockie Robins / You & Me (Uk)
Artist: Rockie Robbins
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 12/15/2023
UPC: 5019421605324

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. I Can Hardly Wait (3:27)
2. If I Ever Lose You (4:20)
3. Funk Street (4:14)
4. When I Think of You (4:30)
5. I Love You Only (4:00)
6. Don't Deny Me (4:25)
7. Be Ever Wonderful (5:56)
8. Sho' Is Bad (5:20)
9. Miss Dynamite (5:12)
10. You and Me (4:45)
11. Hang Tough (4:57)
12. After Loving You (5:40)
13. Girl I'm Gonna Get Ya
14. Together (4:56)
15. Point of View (2:58)
16. Lost in Love Again (4:49)
17. I Never Knew (2;36)
18. For the Sake of a Memory (3:52)

More Info:

Expansion revive the '2 on 1' albums on CD series with the remarkable work of Rockie Robbins, four albums in total across two CDs - all taken from the original master tapes. Rockie Robbins, born Edward W. Robbins Jr. Comes from Minnesota, Minneapolis. In his teens he sang in a group The Mystics and sent a demo of his voice to A&M Records in Los Angeles. Here begins the story of three albums recorded for the label, then another for MCA. From these first two albums, "Rockie Robbins" (1979) and "You And Me" (1980) we hear his masterful voice combined with musicians, arrangements and productions from a special era of soul music excellence. On his debut there are arrangements and productions by Richard Evans (Natalie Cole, Peabo Bryson, Marlena Shaw, Linda Williams) and Johnny Pate (The Impressions, B. B. King, Betty Everett). Singles were the self-penned "If I Ever Lose You" and the Earth Wind & Fire cover "Be Ever Wonderful", the latter making the US R&B charts in 1979. The album came out despite the original recordings being accidentally erased meaning the whole project had to be started again from scratch. Over half the songs were penned by Rockie himself, "I Can Hardly Wait" written especially by Skip Scarborough with Wanda Hutchinson of The Emotions. The re-recording was a success and has left a lasting impact on fans. From his "You And Me" album, the title track became a signature song and Rockie's biggest hit single. It was produced by Bobby Martin (PIR Records, The Manhattans, L. T. D. ). It reached the US R&B Top 10 and stayed on that chart for over five months. The album included songs composed by Sam Dees, Larry Graham, Leon Ware, Zane Grey and Allee Willis, the latter in collaboration with Robbins himself from the same period she co-wrote "September" and "Boogie Wonderland" for Earth Wind & Fire.