Rockie Robbins - I Believe In Love / Rockie Robbins (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

I Believe In Love / Rockie Robbins (Uk)
Artist: Rockie Robbins
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 12/15/2023
UPC: 5019421605423

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Time to Think (4:45)
2. I Believe in Love (3:55)
3. My Old Friend (4:16)
4. Look Before You Leap (3:55)
5. Give Our Love a Chance (4:12)
6. For You, for Love (4:29)
7. Nothing Like Love (4:01)
8. Talk to Me (4:58)
9. I'll Turn to You (3:14)
10. An Act of Love (3:40)
11. I've Got Your Number (4:26)
12. Goodbyes Don't Last Forever (5:17)
13. Stay with Me (5:05)
14. Work for Love (4:18)
15. Caught in the Act (3:57)
16. I Found Love (4:04)
17. We Belong Together (4:54)
18. You Finally Found the One (4:23)

More Info:

Expansion revive the '2 on 1' albums on CD series with the remarkable work of Rockie Robbins, four albums in total across two CDs - all taken from the original master tapes FOR THE FIRST TIME. Rockie Robbins, born Edward W. Robbins Jr. Comes from Minnesota, Minneapolis. In his teens he sang in a group The Mystics and sent a demo of his voice to A&M Records in Los Angeles. Here begins the story of three albums recorded for the label, then another for MCA. "I Believe In Love" is Rockie's third album for A&M Records and it's a masterpiece. 1981 was a golden year for highly crafted soul music by extremely gifted singers, songwriters, arrangers, musicians and producers, all super-engineered to perfection. Rockie contributes to the song writing here and is the sole composer on one of the stand out songs "Give Our Love A Chance". He is also co-writer on the single, his signature song "Time To Think" with Ron 'Have Mercy' Kersey, and also writes alongside Skip Scarborough, Jerry Peters and Alton McClain on this album. With Rockie's exceptional voice he can also take someone else's song and make it is own, super evident with the huge hit "You And Me" (originally by the group Exile). On the "I Believe In Love" album it's so hard to immediately recall original versions of "For You, For Love" by Average White Band, "My Old Friend" by Al Jarreau, and "Talk To Me" by Al Green. Then came "Rockie Robbins", the MCA self-titled album from 1985 hits this new groove spot on with songs and productions in the main from the Silverspoon team. There is also work from a producer from his A&M days, Richard Evans who brings a more classic sound to "We Belong Together", a song co-written by Maxayn Lewis (of the Ikettes) and bass player Wornell Jones. Leon Sylvers personally co-writes another of the stand out songs "Goodbyes Don't Last Forever", the single "I've Got Your Number" and upbeat "Work For Love" further endearing this album to Rockie fans