Ariosti / Righini / Costantini - 6 Lessons For Viola D'amore | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)

More Info:

Attilio Malachia Ariosti (1666-1730) was born in Bologna, Italy. Violinist, organist, composer and librettist. He took vows at the order of the Serviti as Frate Ottavio in 1688 and was appointed organist in the church of S. Maria dei Servi in Bologna in 1693. He travelled to Mantua and Venice, the most enlightened musical and artistic centers of northern Italy and then moved to Berlin and lately to Vienna in 1703. Expelled from the Papal State for moral reasons, in 1716 he lived in London where, together with Bononcini and Handel, he became a permanent composer of the Royal Academy. At the King's Theater he played with the viola d'amore in the intervals between the acts, "... a new symphony composed by the famous Mr. Attilio Ariosti in which he will play a new instrument called viola d'amore". The Six Lessons for Viola d'Amore, published in London in 1724 and dedicated to King George, are harmonically and melodically very appealing and were composed expressly to teach violinists to play the viola d'amore. The viola d'amore has six or seven strings and the same number of resonance strings placed under the bridge, that strongly characterize it's timbre.