Lekeu / Salvatori - Complete Piano Works | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Complete Piano Works
Artist: Lekeu / Salvatori
Format: CD


Label: Piano Classics
Rel. Date: 01/05/2024
UPC: 5029365102896

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. No.
2. Chansonette sans paroles [01:46]
3. No.
4. Valse oubliee [03:46]
5. No.
6. Danse joyeuse [03:36]
7. Berceuse [02:12]
8. I. Prelude [02:13]
9. II. Fugue [07:31]
10. III. Fugue [03:38]
11. IV. Dans un mouvement plus lent [05:18]
12. V. Finale [03:28]
13. Berceuse [02:29]
14. Valse [02:29]
15. Andantino semplice e molto espressivo [00:47]
16. Tempo di Mazurka [10:06]
17. I. Allegro marcato [01:42]
18. II. Andante [03:03]
19. III. Andantino malinconico [03:27]
20. IV. Andante [02:59]
21. V. Andante, pour moi seul [04:25]
22. Adagio religioso col piĆ¹ grand' espressione [04:38]
23. Morceaux egoistes [11:31]
24. Moderato quasi largo [08:31]
25. Pastorale [00:37] 2
26. Fuga [07:58

More Info:

The most complete set of Lekeu's piano music ever recorded, demonstrating the full range of genius cut off in his prime. After his death from typhoid fever at the age of just 24, in January 1894, Debussy and many others lamented the passing of a musician with the world at his feet. 'There is a Belgian school,' wrote Debussy in 1896. 'Next to Franck, Lekeu is one of it's most remarkable representatives, this Lekeu, the only musician to my knowledge whom Beethoven really inspired.' Partly due to his sudden demise, very little of his extant music has been published; among the works for piano only the monumental, five-movement Sonata in G minor, an album of three beautiful short pieces written in 1892, and a Mazurka. Jacopo Salvatori demonstrates, on this groundbreaking new album, how much else there is for pianophiles and enthusiasts for French romanticism to enjoy. In his booklet note, Salvatori describes how he tracked down the manuscripts for several pieces heard here effectively for the first time. They include a beautiful four voices fugue written in 1889, a piece clearly influenced by the teaching of Franck. There is also a series called Morceaux egoists, of which some are lost, but there are pointers in what survives towards a different side of Lekeu to the one known from the familiar, Wagnerian richness of the Violin Sonata. Even the Piano Sonata takes on a different complexion as potentially more of a Suite, somewhat loosely assembled, but unified by a poetic motto from the writer George Vanor. Shedding such light on Lekeu makes Salvatori's album a unique and valuable contribution to the appreciation of a still little-known but powerfully talented voice of the Belle Epoque.