John Strang - Masterpeace (Ltd) | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top

RecordStore Day

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Masterpeace (Ltd)
Artist: John Strang
Format: Vinyl


Rel. Date: 01/15/2021
UPC: 5033281011255

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Village School
2. Seagull No.3
3. Late In The Day
4. Dreams
5. Madame Bartholemew
6. Acid Albatross
7. Little Fat Man
8. Butterfly
9. Ge-Bomb 1
10. Masterpeace 1 1
11. Twisted Tree 1
12. Swallow No.7 1
13. He Was Only A Child 1
14. Blistered Blades Of Grass 1
15. No Money To Pay 1
16. Love Grew In The Night 1
17. Little Anna 1
18. Masterpeace 2

More Info:

Only 25 copies were privately made in 1968 by the 17-year-old Strang, who carried them home from the studio several miles in a rucksack on foot. Very few survive today, and it is a little understood LP. #the title refers to nuclear armageddon and the total death of all life, not a hippie idyll, and the songs are apocalyptic poetry that confronts the cold war, Hiroshima and Nagasaki, platonic forms and the nature of reality, there are also a few explicit drug references to LSD and amphetamines.This darkness of intent makes the lp exceptional for the time, and seminal. #musically it draws from Donovan and the incredible string band, at times becoming experimental, and yet with an air of fragility that predicts Vashti Bunyan LP made two years later. #John Strang continues to compose privately to this day but walked away from a Transatlantic Records deal in the early 70s to pursue a career in Psychiatry, for which he was knighted. A concept lp about mental illness was due for release on Transatlantic, which we are currently restoring from surviving tapes and cassettes, entitled, "Shame and Stigma". Full lyrics included which demand careful reading, plus an insert explaining the LP written by the artist himself.