Robert Naylor & Friends - Skates (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Traitors Gate (Naylor) 6:11
2. Water Baby (Naylor) 4:02
3. A London Dawn (Naylor) 5:41
4. Salome (Naylor) 3:54
5. A Kind of Dream (Naylor) 3:26
6. Celeste (Naylor) 4:08
7. Christine (Naylor) (Instr.) 2:35
8. Waterfalls (Naylor) 3:26

More Info:

Robert Naylor & Friends/Skates: Previously completely unknown second, unreleased, LP by eccentric English songsmith. Recorded in 1973 at the University of Surrey Music Department where Robert was a Guitar Degree Student. A kaleidoscope of beautifully sung, intense, impressionistic, self-composed songs. Some simply backed by his stunning guitar work, others with full chamber folk-rock backing. Heavily symbolic lyrics and deceptively sweet music, much of the imagery seems to anticipate his tragic early death, in his sleep, aged 19, just weeks before he graduated. Obvious comparisons can be made to Nick Drake, early Tim Buckley, but perhaps more sharply to early Al Stewart and with a strong resonance of Village Thing artists, especially Dave Evans' two classic LPs.