Abacothozi - Thema Maboneng | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Thema Maboneng
Artist: Abacothozi
Format: Vinyl


Rel. Date: 05/31/2024
UPC: 5050580819566

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store

More Info:

Abacothozi, a South African 4-piece band, were formed in 1973 by bassist Berthwel Maphumulo, formerly of the Elite Swingsters. Together with Mac Mathunjwa on organ, his brother Innocent Mathunjwa on drums, and Joe Zikhali on guitar, they recorded at least two albums: 'Thema Maboneng' released in 1975 and 'Night in Pelican' released in 1976 (reissued on Matsuli Music Compilation 'Night In Pelican'). These six sizzling tracks were originally recorded by West Nkosi for the Mavuthela label. Released without fanfare and then forgotten, they remained totally unknown to DJs and clubgoers for over 40 years. Rediscovered by diggers extraordinaire Kon & Amir for their much-lauded 'Off Track Volume Two: Queens' (3xLP) on BBE Records and suddenly, a volcanic meltdown frenzy for a holiest of grails emerged with sightings reported in hushed tones just in case you were beaten to the draw in some backstreet wax cave that someone foolishly whispered about on a social media site for all the world to see. Now, Jazz Room Records is proud to release this epic fusion of sun-soaked exuberance, funk-infused rhythms and soul-jazz-driven beats for the first time in 50 years. Sounding as if it were recorded yesterday, it is poised to light up dance floors again, from the Vibrant Streets of Soweto to the Funky Basement Dives of Barcelona, filling floors from the Outasite Getdown Grooves of Uncle Funks Palace to the Solid Soul Boulevards of Funky Broadway.Tracklisting:A1. Thema Maboneng (6:22)A2. Khwezela Mkhwezeli (5:59)A3. Jika Sibongile (4:04)B1. Cothozani Bafana (3:21)B2. Iqxababa Lembadada (6:06)B3. Pho Usolani (4:32)