Read, Hannah / Starkey, Michael - Cross The Rolling Water | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Apple Blossom
2. Blue River
3. Charleston
4. Shenandoah
5. Rose Tree
6. North Missouri Wagoner
7. Ready for the Times
8. Waltz de la Funguy
9. Shenandoah Instrumental
10. Old Kentucky Whiskey
11. Sycamore Tea
12. Leonardos Blues
13. Johnny Come Along

More Info:

Acclaimed singer-songwriter and fiddler Hannah Read met banjo player Michael Starkey at an Appalachian old time session in Edinburgh in late 2019. The moment they first struck up a tune together there was an immediate meeting of musical minds and they have since become a formidable and dynamic fiddle and banjo duo, playing repertoire deep from the old time tradition (such as EXAMPLE SONG AND DATE?) as well as newly self-composed tunes and songs (such as EXAMPLE SONG?). Hannah is an award winning Scottish musician based in Brooklyn, NY. She moved Stateside to study American fiddle styles and to immerse herself in the thriving string music scene. She has toured extensively, performing solo and collaborating with musicians far and wide including Tony Trischka, Sarah Jarosz and Jefferson Hamer, as well as being one part of the BBC Folk Award winning Songs of Separation. Her previous album was the well-received 'Way Out I'll Wander' from 2017. Michael is a multi- instrumentalist, music teacher and old time banjo enthusiast living in Scotland. His mission as a musician is to keep things simple - clear melody lines underpinned by solid, infectious rhythm. Recent collaborations include with Wayward Jane (Edinburgh- based UK/ US folk and roots music 4-piece) and 'Faultlines', a collection of Lisa Fannen's poetry set to music